Barbosa, Helvie Earn Top Team Awards

April 28, 2006

BERKELEY, Calif. - California named senior Henrique Barbosa its Most Valuable Swimmer and freshman Sam Helvie its Most Valuable Diver at its men's swimming and diving team banquet last Sunday.

At the banquet, a combined Cal aquatics banquet with the women's swimming and diving team, the men's water polo team and the women's water polo team, Cal handed out awards in five additional swimming categories. Included on that list was the Team First/Most Inspirational Award, given to Barbosa and sophomore teammate Dominik Meichtry.

Barbosa completed his college career in grand style, winning two NCAA titles - the 100- and 200-yard breaststrokes - in school-record times (52.52 and 1:53.97, respectively) at the 2006 NCAA Championships March 23-25 in Atlanta, Ga. Those were Cal's only national titles this season.

The product of Belo Horizonte, Minas Gerais, Brazil, also swam the breaststroke leg on Cal's third-place 200-yard medley relay and on the Bears' 10th-place 400-yard medley relay in Atlanta. The 2004 Brazilian Olympian added a victory in the 100-yard breaststroke at the Pac-10 Championships March 1-4 in Federal Way, Wash., where he also swam the breaststroke legs on Cal's winning 200- and 400-yard medley relays.

Helvie was Cal's top diver in his first year in Berkeley. The Bakersfield product had two of the Bears' top three performances at the NCAA Zone E Regional in early March in Oklahoma City, Okla., placing ninth on the platform and eighth on the one-meter springboard.

Among his many other accomplishments this season, Helvie became the first Cal diver to win an event at the Texas Invitational, taking the platform with a score of 282.85. The Pac-10 named him its Diver of the Month for December for his performance in Austin. Helvie also had Cal's top finish at the Pac-10 Championships, taking fourth on the platform.

The Golden Bears took sixth place at the NCAA Championships and second place at the Pac-10 Championships in March.

California Men's Swimming and Diving Team Awards

Most Valuable Swimmer - Henrique Barbosa, sr.

Most Valuable Diver - Sam Helvie, fr.

Scholar Athlete Award - Justin Pollard, so.

Team First Award (Most Inspirational) - Henrique Barbosa, sr., and Dominik Meichtry, so.

Best Recruiter Award - Evan Lane, sr.

Most Improved Award - William Copeland, so.

Coaches Award - Milorad Cavic, sr., and Daniel Lysaught, jr.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder