Men's Golfer Alejandro Canizares Earns Co-Pac-10 Player of the Year

May 5, 2006

The Pac-10's men's golf coaches have named Arizona State senior Alejandro Canizares a 2006 Pac-10 Co-Golfer of the Year with Stanford's Rob Grube, while Sun Devil junior Niklas Lemke earned first-team honors and freshman Benjamin Alvarado Holley earned second-team honors.

It marks the fifth time (by four players) that ASU's Randy Lein has coached the Pac-10 Golfer of the Year. Lein is in his 14th season at Arizona State and has won Coach of the Year five times in his ASU tenure (2000, 1999, 1996, 1995, 1993). Four other Sun Devils have earned the honor on six occasions.

Canizares, a three-time All-American and the 2005 Pac-10 Player of the Year, has a 71.41 stroke average in 11 events this year with five top-five finishes and is the first player to earn the honor in back-to-back years since Stanford's Tiger Woods (1995-96). He is a six-time winner in his career, winning the 2005 Puerto Rico Classic, 2005 Ping/Arizona Intercollegiate, 2004 Big Ten/Pac-10 Challenge, 2004 ASU Thunderbird Invitational, 2003 NCAA Championship and 2003 National Invitational. He tied for first at this year's Ping/Arizona Intercollegiate but lost in a playoff and also tied for second at the National Invitational Tournament. This year marks his third year of earning first-team All-Pac-10 after notching second-team honors in his first year (2002-03).

SUN DEVILS AS PAC-10 POY: A list of Sun Devils who have won Pac-10 Player of the Year honors:Scott Watkins (1979 Co-Golfer of the Year)Dan Forsman (1981 Co-Golfer of the Year)Billy Mayfair (1987)Phil Mickelson (1990, 1991 and 1992)Todd Demsey (1994)Paul Casey (2000)Jeff Quinney (2001 Co-Golfer of the Year)Alejandro Canizares (2005)Alejandro Canizares (2006 Co-Golfer of the Year)

Lemke has a 71.74 stroke average with four top-10 finishes, including three in the top five. He twice has tied for second, both at the National Invitational and at the Pac-10 Championships (April 24-26). He earned All-American and All-Pac-10 honorable mention honors last year as ASU finished tied for 11th at the NCAA Championships held June 1-4 in Owings Mills, Md., as both Canizares (73-71-72-71) and Lemke (70-70-76-71) tied for 19th at 7-over 287.

Alvarado Holley has a 72.88 stroke average in eight events with one top-10 finish. He tied for seventh in early March at the Southern Highlands Invitational in Las Vegas with a 5-over 221 (77-71-73). His stroke average is currently the seventh-best by a freshman in ASU history. Alvarado Holley and UCLA's Erik Flores, the Pac-10 Freshman of the Year,were the only two freshman on the first or second team this year.

ASU next competes at the NCAA West Regional May 18-20 in Tucson. The NCAA Championships are May 31-June 3 in Sunriver, Ore.

2006 ALL-PAC-10 FIRST TEAMAlejandro Canizares, Arizona State    Sr., Manilva, SpainErik Flores, UCLA, Fr.       Grass Valley, Calif.Rob Grube, Stanford, So., Hinsdale, Ill.Daniel Im, UCLA, So., Fullerton, Calif.Niklas Lemke, Arizona State  Jr., Linkoping, SwedenAlex Prugh, Washington, Jr., Spokane, Wash.

2006 ALL-PAC-10 SECOND TEAMName, School, Yr., HometownBenjamin Alvarado Holley, Arizona State, Fr., Santiago, ChileChris Heintz, UCLA, Jr., Brea, Calif.James Lepp, Washington, Sr., Abbotsford, B.C.Henry Liaw, Arizona, Jr., Rowland Heights, Calif.Zack Miller, Stanford, Jr., San Rafael, Calif.Taylor Wood, USC, Sr., Laguna Niguel, Calif.

2006 PAC-10 CO-GOLFERS OF THE YEAR: Alejandro Canizares, Sr., Arizona State; Rob Grube, So., Stanford2006 PAC-10 FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Erik Flores, UCLA2006 PAC-10 COACH OF THE YEAR: O.D. Vincent, UCLA

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder