Pac-10 Men's Golf Honors Announced

May 5, 2006

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Alejandro Canizares of Arizona State and Rob Grube of Stanford have been named Pac-10 Co-GolferS of the Year, Erik Flores of UCLA has been named Freshman of the Year, and Bruin coach O.D. Vincent has been named Pac-10 Coach of the Year in voting by the Pac-10 men's golf coaches. In addition, the 2006 All-Pac-10 Men's Golf Team selected by the coaches was announced.

Canizares, a senior from Manilva, Spain, was voted Player of the Year for the second straight year by the Pac-10 coaches, the first player since Tiger Woods (Stanford, 1995-96) to be selected in consecutive years. A three-time first-team All-Pac-10 selection and former NCAA champion, Canizares posted another top-flight season by finishing in the top six in four of 11 tournaments. Canizares posted a scoring average of 71.85 strokes, with eight of 34 tournament rounds under 70.

Grube, a sophomore from Hinsdale, IL, followed up on being named Pac-10 Freshman of the Year in 2005 by earning Co-Player of the Year honors as a sophomore this season. He is the top-ranked Pac-10 golfer in the most recent Golfweek rankings by virtue of finishing in the top 10 in eight of 11 tournaments this year. Included were victories in the U.S. Intercollegiate and the Western Intercollegiate. Grube compiled a scoring average of 71.19 strokes with nine of 32 rounds under 70.

Flores, from Grass Valley, CA, burst on the scene with seven top 10 finishes in 10 events as a freshman, including six finishes in the top three. He posted a stroke average of 72.10 in tournament play with nine of 30 rounds under 70.

Vincent directed a young UCLA squad to the Pac-10 Championship, the Bruins' second league title in his four years at the helm. UCLA won an astounding 11 team championships this season. In addition to the Pac-10 Championships, the Bruin team titles included the Mercedes-Benz Collegiate Championship, the National Invitational Tournament, the U.S. Intercollegiate, The Prestige at PGA WEST and the Corde Valle Collegiate. Vincent, who won the Pac-10 Championship as a player with Washington in 1988, was named Pac-10 Coach of the Year for the third time, having previously been selected in 2003 at UCLA and 1999 while coaching Washington.


Name			School		Yr.	HometownAlejandro Canizares	Arizona State	Sr.	Manilva, SpainErik Flores		UCLA		Fr.	Grass Valley, CARob Grube		Stanford	So.	Hinsdale, ILDaniel Im		UCLA		So.	Fullerton, CANiklas Lemke		Arizona State	Jr.	Linkoping, SwedenAlex Prugh		Washington	Jr.	Spokane, WA


Name			School		Yr.	HometownBenjamin Alvarado	Arizona State	Fr.	Santiago, ChileChris Heintz		UCLA		Jr.	Brea, CAJames Lepp		Washington	Sr.	Abbotsford, B.C.Henry Liaw		Arizona		Jr.	Rowland Heights, CAZack Miller		Stanford	Jr.	San Rafael, CATaylor Wood		USC		Sr.	Laguna Niguel, CA

Honorable Mention: Kevin Chappell, So., UCLA; Josh Esler, Jr., ARIZ; Ben Fox, Fr., ARIZ; Dodge Kemmer, Fr., STAN; Lucas Lee, Fr., UCLA; Tyler Ley, Sr., USC; Jordan Nasser, Jr., USC; Erik Olson, Jr., WASH; Ryan Witz, Sr., WSU; Joshua Wooding, Jr., USC.

PAC-10 CO-GOLFERS OF THE YEAR: Alejandro Canizares, Sr., Arizona State; Rob Grube, So., Stanford

Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder