2006 Pac-10 Tennis Honors Announced

May 8, 2006


Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

In a vote by the Conference coaches, CALIFORNIA's Conor Niland has been named the Pacific-10 Conference Men's Tennis Player of the Year, while the Golden Bears' Zsuzanna Fodor was named Pac-10 Women's Tennis Player of the Year.

The Men's Tennis Doubles Team of the Year was awarded to UCLA's Philipp Gruendler and Benjamin Kohlloeffel, while the STANFORD tandem of Alice Barnes and Anne Yelsey was named the Women's Doubles Team of the Year.

STANFORD's Matt Bruch earned the Men's Freshman of the Year honors, while USC's Amanda Fink was named Women's Freshman of the Year.

For the coaches awards, the Cardinal's John Whitlinger was named Men's Coach of the Year, while the Women of Troy's Richard Gallien was selected as Women's Coach of the Year.

Niland, a senior from Limerick, Ireland, is currently ranked No. 6 in the nation by the ITA and finished the season with a 22-2 dual meet record. Niland, who went undefeated in home matches this season, earned three Pac-10 Men's Tennis Player of the Week awards. Fodor, a junior from Budapest, Hungary, is currently ranked No. 3 in the nation. She recently won the singles title at the Pac-10 Championships, beating USC's Amanda Fink in straight sets. During the regular season, Fodor posted a 28-13 record in dual meets.

UCLA's Gruendler and Kohlloeffel are currently ranked No. 2 in the nation, having compiled a 28-2 overall record, including a perfect 20-0 record in dual matches. Gruendler, a junior from Weil Am Rhein, Germany, and Kohlloeffel, a junior from Horne, Germany, broke UCLA's previous record for consecutive doubles victories, which was set by Patrick Galbraith and Brian Garrow in 1989. Stanford's pairing of Barnes and Yelsey, ranked No. 1 nationally, finished the regular season with a 31-3 record, before earning their second straight Pac-10 title in Ojai, Calif. Banes is a senior from Cambridge, U.K., and Yelsey is a junior from Newport Beach, Calif.

Bruch, a freshman from Lake Forest, Ill., is currently ranked No. 16 nationally with a 25-8 record. Bruch entered the Pac-10 Individual Championships having lost his last three regular-season matches, but won five singles matches, including two over nationally-ranked players, to claim the Pac-10 Singles title at The Ojai. Fink, from Calabasas, Calif., is currently No. 7 in the national rankings. She finished with a 33-8 mark in regular-season singles play, before falling in the Pac-10 championships match to Fodor.

Whitlinger guided the Cardinal to a 6-1 Conference record (15-3 overall) and a share of the Pac-10 team title. After serving 18 seasons as the associate to former Stanford head coach, Dick Gould, Whitlinger took over the coaching duties in 2005 and has twice guided the Cardinal to the NCAA tournament. This is the first time Whitlinger has been named Pac-10 Coach of the Year. Gallien earns his second Coach of the Year honor, guiding the Women of Troy to a 7-1 Pac-10 record, good for second in the league, and a 17-3 mark overall. In his 11 years at Troy, Gallien has led USC to 11 consecutive NCAA tournament berths. Under Gallien's watch, USC has finished no lower than 11th for the past seven years.

Men's First Team
Matt Bruch, STAN
KC Corkery, STAN
Benjamin Kohlloeffel, UCLA
Roger Matalonga, ARIZ
Conor Niland, CAL
Alex Slovic, WASH

Men's Second Team
Haythem Abid, UCLA
Tyler Browne, CAL
Jonathan Kinsella, ASU
James Pade, STAN
Markus Schiller, ORE
James Wan, STAN

Honorable Mention
Dejan Cvetkovic, USC
Jeff Groslimond, ARIZ
Pierre Metenier, WASH
Chris Surapol, UCLA
Kaes Van't Hof, USC

Men's Player of the Year
Conor Niland, CAL

Men's Doubles Team of the Year
Philipp Gruendler/Benjamin Kohlloeffel, UCLA

Men's Newcomer of the Year
Matt Bruch, STAN

Men's Coach of the Year
John Whitlinger, STAN

Women's First Team
Alice Barnes, STAN
Zsuzsanna Fodor, CAL
Amber Liu, STAN
Lindsey Nelson, USC
Amanda Fink, USC
Anne Yelsey, STAN
Theresa Logar, STAN
Laura Gordon, UCLA

Women's Second Team
Dominika Dieskova, ORE
Suzi Babos, CAL
Danielle Steinberg, ARIZ
Riza Zalameda, UCLA
Luana Magnani, USC

Honorable Mention
Tracy Lin, UCLA
Dianne Matias, USC
Ekaterina Burduli, WSU
Roxanne Clarke, ASU
Dinka Hadzic, WASH

Women's Player of the Year
Zsuzsanna Fodor, CAL

Women's Doubles Team of the Year
Alice Barnes/Anne Yelsey, STAN

Women's Freshman of the Year
Amanda Fink, USC

Women's Coach of the Year
Richard Galien, USC

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
  • Pac-12 Sports Report: NBA Draft Special
    Thu 6/21 | 2:00pm PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder