Men's Golf Qualifies For NCAAs For 23rd Straight Season

May 8, 2006

The Arizona State men's golf team will play at the Omni Tucson National Golf Club in Tucson (par 72/7,200 yards) in the NCAA West Regional May 18-20, the NCAA announced today. It marks the seventh best active streak in all of college golf, as 2006 will mark ASU's 23rd straight NCAA appearance.

The 27 teams will play 18 holes each of the three days beginning at 7 a.m.

ASU has won regional titles in 2001, 1999, 1998 (tied for first), 1995 and 1991 (tied), as NCAA regional play began in 1989 and ASU has qualified every year.

Teams Scheduled to Compete By Seed), plus six individuals (conference champion if listed): 1. Florida, 2. Arizona State, 3. Brigham Young, 4. East Tennessee State, 5. Baylor, 6. Alabama, 7. Arizona; 8. San Diego State, 9. North Carolina State, 10. Washington, 11. New Mexico (Mountain West Conference), 12. Stanford, 13. Houston, 14. Pepperdine, 15. Louisville, 16. Denver, 17. Santa Clara, 18. New Mexico State (Western Athletic Conference), 19. Fresno State, 20. UC-Irvine, 21. Nevada, 22. San Diego, 23. Cal Poly (Big West Conference), 24. Western Kentucky (Sun Belt Conference), 25. Loyola Marymount (West Coast Conference), 26. Jackson State (Southwestern Athletic Conference), and 27. Bucknell (Patriot League). Individuals: Graham DeLaet, Boise State; Dustin Pimm, Utah; Chadd Coco, Saint Mary's; Ryan Witz, Washington State; Ryan Wood, Long Beach State; and Derrick Whiting, Colorado State.

CoPac-10 Player of the Year Alejandro Canizares leads ASU with a 74.41 stroke average, including five top-five finishes and six career wins. Junior Niklas Lemke, a first-team All-Pac-10 selection, has a 71.74 stroke average with four top-10 finishes.

Live scoring will be available on the internet at Tournament recaps and results also can be found at, while recaps, results and quotes can be found at

The top 10 teams and two individuals in this event will qualify for the 2006 NCAA Men's Golf Championships, May 31-June 3, at the Crosswater Club at Sunriver Resort in Sunriver, Ore. The University of Portland will serve as the host institution.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder