Men's Golf Selected To NCAA Regional Championships

May 8, 2006

Indianapolis, Ind. - The NCAA Division I Men's Golf Committee has selected the teams and individuals to participate in the 2006 NCAA Division I Men's Golf Championships.

The championships will be conducted May 31-June 3 at Crosswater Golf Club at Sunriver Resort in Sunriver, Oregon. The University of the Portland is the host institution for this year's championships.

Three regional tournaments, encompassing the current nine regions, will be conducted May 18-20. A total of 27 teams and six individuals not on selected teams were assigned to each regional site. Ten teams and two individuals not on advancing teams will move on from each regional to the championship finals.

Listed below are the teams and individuals selected to participate in the championships. Teams winning automatic qualification are designated by their conferences in parentheses.

Lake Nona Golf-Orlando, Florida
Hosted by the University of Central Florida and the Central Florida Sports Commission

Teams (seeded in the following order):
1. Georgia (Southeastern)
2. UCLA (Pacific-10)
4. Georgia State (Colonial)
5. North Carolina
6. Southern California
7. Texas Tech
8. Wake Forest
9. Charlotte (Atlantic 10)
10. Coastal Carolina (Big South)
11. Auburn
12. Tennessee
13. South Carolina
14. Florida State
15. Indiana
16. Notre Dame (Big East)
17. Georgia Southern (Southern)
18. Maryland
19. Jacksonville (Atlantic Sun)
20. Western Illinois (Mid-Continent)
21. Wichita State (Missouri Valley)
22. Rhode Island
23. George Washington
24. Richmond
25. Liberty
26. Army
27. Binghamton

1. Luke List, Vanderbilt
2. Daniel Willett, Jacksonville State
3. Matt Cook, Western Carolina
4. Garrett Osborne, Alabama-Birmingham
5. Shawn Hall, Charleston Southern
6. Scott Stallings, Tennessee Tech

Sand Ridge Golf Club- Chardon, Ohio
Hosted by Cleveland State University

Teams (seeded in the following order):
1. Oklahoma State
2. Georgia Tech (Atlantic Coast)
3. Texas A & M
4. Clemson
5. Duke
6. Texas
7. Kentucky
8. Tulsa
9. Northwestern (Big Ten)
10. Minnesota
11. Lamar (Southland)
12. Kent State (MAC)
13. Oklahoma (Big 12)
14. TCU
15. Purdue
16. Southern Methodist (Conference USA)
17. Xavier
18. Texas-Arlington
19. Colorado
20. Missouri
21. Nebraska
22. Kansas State
23. Eastern Kentucky (Ohio Valley)
24. Cleveland State (Horizon League)
25. Siena (Metro Atlantic Athletic)
26. Princeton (Ivy Group)
27. St. Francis (Pennsylvania) (Northeast)

1. Matt Bortis, Arkansas
2. Kane Hanson, Drake
3. Gary Woodland, Kansas
4. Korey Mahoney, Eastern Michigan
5. Patrick Nagle, Illinois
6. Ryan Brehm, Michigan State

Tucson National Golf Club- Tucson, Arizona
Hosted by the University of Arizona

Teams (seeded in the following order):
1. Florida
2. Arizona State
3. BYU
4. East Tennessee State
5. Baylor
6. Alabama
7. Arizona
8. San Diego State
9. North Carolina State
10. Washington
11. New Mexico (Mountain West)
12. Stanford
13. Houston
14. Pepperdine
15. Louisville
16. Denver
17. Santa Clara
18. New Mexico State (Western Athletic)
19. Fresno State
20. UC-Irvine
21. Nevada
22. San Diego
23. Cal Poly (Big West)
24. Western Kentucky (Sun Belt)
25. Loyola Marymount (West Coast)
26. Jackson State (Southwestern Athletic)
27. Bucknell (Patriot League)

1. Graham Delaet, Boise State
2. Dustin Pimm, Utah
3. Chadd Cocco, St. Mary's (California)
4. Ryan Witz-Washington State
5. Ryan Wood, Long Beach State
6. Derek Whiting, Colorado State

The University of Georgia fired an even par 280 on the final day to win the 2005 championship at Caves Valley Golf Club in Owings Mills, Maryland. The Bulldogs captured the title with an 11-stroke win over Georgia Tech. Washington's James Leep shot a final round seven-under par, 63, and then defeated Pepperdine's Michael Putnam on the third hole of a sudden-death playoff to win the individual title.

-- Courtesy