Whitlinger Named Pac-10 Coach of the Year; Bruch and Corkery Selected First-Team

May 8, 2006

John Whitlinger today was named Pac-10 Men's Tennis Coach of the Year while freshman Matt Bruch was chosen the Newcomer of the Year. Bruch and KC Corkery were also named First-Team All-Pac-10 in a vote by conference coaches.

In addition, James Wan and James Pade were named Second-Team All-Pac-10.

Bruch, a freshman from Lake Forest, Ill., is currently ranked No. 16 nationally with a 25-8 record. Bruch entered the Pac-10 Individual Championships having lost his last three regular-season matches, but won five singles matches, including two over nationally-ranked players, to claim the Pac-10 Singles title at The Ojai.

Whitlinger guided the Cardinal to a 6-1 Conference record (15-3 overall) and a share of the Pac-10 team title. After serving 18 seasons as the associate to former head coach, Dick Gould, Whitlinger took over the coaching duties in 2005 and has twice guided the Cardinal to the NCAA tournament. This is the first time Whitlinger has been named Pac-10 Coach of the Year.

Corkery a three-time All-American, is currently ranked No. 25 in the nation in singles and No. 16 in doubles with Pade. Corkery has been a Second-Team All-Pac-10 selection in each of the past three years.

Wan is ranked No. 66 in the nation and has compiled a 23-7 overall singles record in 2006. Pade, returning from taking the 2005 season off, has been impressive this year while putting together a 25-7 overall record.

Stanford, ranked No. 13 in the country, will host the NCAA First and Second Round this Saturday and Sunday (May 13-24). The Cardinal will face Quinnipiac in the first round non May 13 at 12:00 pm at the Taube Tennis Center.

A complete list of Pac-10 honors is listed below:

Men's First Team
Matt Bruch, STAN
KC Corkery, STAN
Benjamin Kohlloeffel, UCLA
Roger Matalonga, ARIZ
Conor Niland, CAL
Alex Slovic, WASH

Men's Second Team
Haythem Abid, UCLA
Tyler Browne, CAL
Jonathan Kinsella, ASU
James Pade, STAN
Markus Schiller, ORE
James Wan, STAN

Honorable Mention
Dejan Cvetkovic, USC
Jeff Groslimond, ARIZ
Pierre Metenier, WASH
Chris Surapol, UCLA
Kaes Van't Hof, USC

Men's Player of the Year
Conor Niland, CAL

Men's Doubles Team of the Year
Philipp Gruendler/Benjamin Kohlloeffel, UCLA

Men's Newcomer of the Year
Matt Bruch, STAN

Men's Coach of the Year
John Whitlinger, STAN

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder