Kristina Thorson Named Pac-10 Pitcher of the Year

May 17, 2006

BERKELEY - California senior Kristina Thorson has been named the Pac-10 Pitcher of the Year in a vote of the league's coaches, becoming the first Golden Bear ever to receive the honor, the conference announced Tuesday.

In addition, five other Cal softball players earned Pac-10 All-Conference recognition. Senior catcher Haley Woods joined Thorson on the first team, while senior outfielder Lindsay James and junior outfield Alex Sutton were named to the second team. Senior Emily Friedman and freshman outfielder Morgan Siegel was chosen honorable mention.

Thorson, Woods and Sutton were also selected to the first-team All-Pacific Region squad announced Tuesday.

Thorson, from Lake Forest Park, Wash., leads the Pac-10 in innings pitched (264.0), strikeouts (399), batters retired looking (158), wins (32) and saves (5). She ranks 11th in the nation with a 0.82 ERA, and is 14th with 10.6 strikeouts per seven innings, second with 32 victories and fifth with five saves. One more win will give Thorson 33 victories on the year, tying her with Michele Granger for Cal's single-season record.

A three-time Pac-10 Pitcher of the Week, Thorson passed the 1,000-career strikeout mark last weekend and enters the postseason with 1,009 strikeouts. A two-time second-team All-American, she is on the Pac-10 first unit for the third time.

Woods is batting .365 with 14 doubles, 14 home runs and 51 RBI. She holds the school record for RBI(187) and total bases in a career (385) and was a second-team All-Pac-10 choice last year.

James owns a .383 batting average with 32 runs and eight stolen bases. She is a member of the Pac-10 second team for the third straight season. Sutton is batting .366 with three homers and 36 RBI.

Siegel has a .372 batting average in her first year with the Bears, and Friedman is batting .327.

Other awards announced by the conference Tuesday went to UCLA infielder Andrea Duran (Player of the Year), Arizona State freshman Kaitlin Cochran (Newcomer of the Year), Stanford shortstop Lauren Lappin (Defensive Player of the Year) and UCLA's Sue Enquist (Coach of the Year).

Cal opens NCAA Tournament action Friday when the 10th-seeded Bears face Illinois State in the Iowa City, Iowa, regional. Cal is seeking its eighth consecutive trip to the Women's College World Series.

2006 All-Pac-10 Softball Team

First Team

Player School Yr Pos HometownCaitlin Benyi UCLA SR 2B Scottsdale, Ariz.Kaitlin Cochran ASU FR OF Yorba Linda, Calif.Andrea Duran UCLA SR 3B Selma, Calif.Kristie Fox ARIZ JR SS San Diego, Calif.Alicia Hollowell ARIZ SR P Suisun, Calif.Lauren Lappin STAN SR SS/C Anaheim, Calif.Jodie Legaspi UCLA JR SS Garden Grove, Calif.Caitlin Lowe ARIZ JR OF Tustin, Calif.Brianne McGowan OSU JR P/DP Reno, Nev.Cambria Miranda OSU SO OF/UT Camarillo, Calif.Catalina Morris STAN SR OF Sonoita, Ariz.Anjelica Selden UCLA SO P Vacaville, Calif.Kristina Thorson CAL SR P Lake Forest Park, Wash.Haley Woods CAL SR C Burlingame, Calif.

Second Team

Player School Yr Pos HometownAdrienne Alo OSU SR OF Carson, Calif.Katie Burkhart ASU SO P San Luis Obispo, Calif.Autumn Champion ARIZ SR OF Tustin, Calif.Ashley Charters WASH SO UT Newberg, Ore.Krista Colburn UCLA SO OF Mukilteo, Wash.Maddy Coon STAN FR 3B/SS Chappaqua, N.Y.Mindy Cowles ASU SO 2B Riverside, Calif.Lindsay James CAL SR OF San Carlos, Calif.Dominique Lastrapes WASH JR 2B Laguna Hills, Calif.Danielle Lawrie WASH FR P Langley, B.C.Mia Longfellow OSU JR SS Ramona, Calif.Breanne Sabol ORE SR SS Buena Park, Calif.Alex Sutton CAL JR OF Morgan Hill, Calif.Emily Zaplatosch UCLA SR C Scottsdale, Ariz.

Honorable Mention: Lisa Allen, OSU; Rhiannon Baca, ASU; Dani Baird, ORE; Callista Balko, ARIZ; Suzie Barnes, ORE; Beth Boskovich, ORE; Lisa Dodd, UCLA, Alissa Eno, UCLA, Emily Friedman, CAL; Amy Harris, ORE; Tara Henry, UCLA; Sarah Hyatt, WASH; Sari Jenkins, ORE; Becky McCullough, STAN; Aimee Minor, WASH; Taryne Mowatt, ARIZ; Missy Penna, STAN; Jackie Rinehart, STAN; Desiree Serrano, ASU; Morgan Siegel, CAL; Michelle Smith, STAN; Jackie Vasquez, ASU; Ashley Werschky, ASU; DeAnn Young, OSU

Previous Winners

Pac-10 Coach of the Year
1987 Mike Candrea ARIZ & Donna Terry CAL
1988 Mike Candrea ARIZ
1989 Teresa Wilson ORE
1990 Sharron Backus UCLA
1991 Diane Ninemire CAL
1992 Sharron Backus UCLA
1993 Sharron Backus UCLA
1994 Mike Candrea ARIZ
1995 Sharron Backus UCLA & Sue Enquist UCLA
1996 Teresa Wilson WASH
1997 Mike Candrea ARIZ
1998 Mike Candrea ARIZ
1999 Sue Enquist UCLA & Kirk Walker OSU
2000 Mike Candrea ARIZ & Teresa Wilson WASH
2001 Mike Candrea ARIZ & John Rittman STAN
2002 Mike Candrea ARIZ
2003 Mike Candrea ARIZ
2004 John Rittman STAN
2005 Kirk Walker OSU
2006 Sue Enquist UCLA

Pac-10 Player of the Year
1987 Lisa Longaker UCLA & Jodi Rathbun ASU
1988 Lisa Longaker UCLA
1989 Katie Wiese ORE
1990 Lisa Longaker UCLA
1991 Lisa Fernandez UCLA
1992 Lisa Fernandez UCLA
1993 Lisa Fernandez UCLA
1994 Susie Parra ARIZ
1995 Laura Espinoza ARIZ
1996 Jenny Dalton ARIZ
1997 Alison McCutcheon ARIZ
1998 Alison McCutcheon ARIZ
1999 Stacey Nuveman UCLA
2000 Jessica Mendoza STAN
2001 Stacey Nuveman UCLA
2002 Stacey Nuveman UCLA
2003 Natasha Watley UCLA
2004 Kristen Rivera WASH
2005 Caitlin Lowe ARIZ & Kristen Rivera WASH
2006 Andrea Duran UCLA

Pac-10 Newcomer of the Year
1994 Leah Braatz ARIZ
1995 Tanya Harding UCLA
1996 Julie Adams UCLA
1997 Stacey Nuveman UCLA
1998 Toni Mascarenas ARIZ
1999 Jessica Mendoza STAN
2000 Jenny Topping WASH
2001 Tia Bollinger WASH
2002 Lovieanne Jung ARIZ
2003 Alicia Hollowell ARIZ
2004 Caitlin Lowe ARIZ
2005 Anjelica Selden UCLA
2006 Kaitlin Cochran ASU

Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year
2005 Lauren Lappin STAN
2006 Lauren Lappin STAN

Pac-10 Pitcher of the Year
1999 Courtney Dale UCLA
2000 Jennifer Spediacci WASH
2001 Jennie Finch ARIZ
2002 Jennie Finch ARIZ
2003 Keira Goerl UCLA
2004 Alicia Hallowell ARIZ
2005 Brianne McGowan OSU
2006 Kristina Thorson CAL

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder