Pac-10 Names All-Conference Softball Teams

May 17, 2006

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- In a vote of the league's eight head coaches, UCLA infielder Andrea Duran was named the Pacific-10 Conference Softball Player of the Year. CALIFORNIA's Kristina Thorson was named Pitcher of the Year, ARIZONA STATE freshman Kaitlin Cochran was named Newcomer of the Year and STANFORD shortstop Lauren Lappin received Defensive Player of the Year honors. Coach of the Year was awarded to UCLA's Sue Enquist, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

Duran, a senior from Selma, Calif., led the Bruins to their eighth Pac-10 title this season, pacing UCLA in nearly every offensive category. UCLA's leadoff hitter, Duran currently leads the team in batting average (.352), hits (58), RBI (36), slugging percentage (.703), and stolen bases (18). She ranks 10th in the nation with 1.00 runs per game. Duran is UCLA's 11th all-time Pac-10 Player of the Year selection. She garnered three Pac-10 Player of the Week awards this season, along with two USA Softball/ and NFCA Player of the Week accolades, and was the only two-time national honoree this year.

Thorson, a senior from Lake Forest Park, Wash., paced California on the mound this season, leading the Conference in innings pitched (264.0), strikeouts (399), batters retired looking (158), wins (32) and saves (5). She currently ranks 11th in the nation with a 0.82 ERA, 14th with 10.6 strikeouts per seven innings, second with 32 victories and fifth with five saves. Thorson is just the first Bear to surpass the 1,000 career strikeout mark, and ranks in the top-five on Cal's single-season wins list, career strikeouts list, season strikeouts list, season saves and career saves. A two-time All-American, Thorson is a three-time All-Conference first team member, and has garnered three Pac-10 Player of the Week selections. She is Cal's first Pac-10 Pitcher of the Year award recipient.

Lappin, a shortstop from Anaheim, Calif., garnered Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year honors for the second consecutive season. A two-time NFCA All-American, she is also a three-time All-Pac-10 first team member and was on the 2004 Women's College World Series All-Tournament team. She was an alternate to the 2004 USA Olympic Team, and has garnered two Pac-10 Player of the Week awards.

Cochran, a freshman from Yorba Linda, Calif., dominated the Conference offensively this season and led the Sun Devils to their second consecutive postseason appearance. She currently leads the league in slugging percentage (.796), on-base percentage (.545), hits (73), RBI (56), home runs (15) and total bases (133). Cochran broke the ASU single-season record for RBI, and ranks among the top-five on the school record lists in home runs and hits. She ranks in the top-25 nationally in batting average (10th-.437), RBI per game (25th-0.93) and slugging percentage (14th-.796). A Pac-10 Player of the Week award recipient this year, Cochran is Arizona State's first Pac-10 Newcomer of the Year award winner.

Enquist, in her 10th season as sole head coach at UCLA, earned her third Coach of the Year award, to go along with the three National Coach of the Year honors she garnered in 1992, 1995 and 2004. She guided the Bruins to their eighth Pac-10 Conference title and an overall number one seed in the NCAA Tournament this season. The first softball inductee into UCLA's Hall of Fame, Enquist was the first Bruin softball All-American as a player in 1978. She was a 2006 inductee to the National Fastpitch Coaches Association Hall of Fame.


Player School Yr Pos Hometown
Caitlin Benyi UCLA SR 2B Scottsdale, Ariz.
Kaitlin Cochran ASU FR OF Yorba Linda, Calif.
Andrea Duran UCLA SR 3B Selma, Calif.
Kristie Fox ARIZ JR SS San Diego, Calif.
Alicia Hollowell ARIZ SR P Suisun, Calif.
Lauren Lappin STAN SR SS/C Anaheim, Calif.
Jodie Legaspi UCLA JR SS Garden Grove, Calif.
Caitlin Lowe ARIZ JR OF Tustin, Calif.
Brianne McGowan OSU JR P/DP Reno, Nev.
Cambria Miranda OSU SO OF/UT Camarillo, Calif.
Catalina Morris STAN SR OF Sonoita, Ariz.
Anjelica Selden UCLA SO P Vacaville, Calif.
Kristina Thorson CAL SR P Lake Forest Park, Wash.
Haley Woods CAL SR C Burlingame, Calif.


Player School Yr Pos Hometown
Adrienne Alo OSU SR OF Carson, Calif.
Katie Burkhart ASU SO P San Luis Obispo, Calif.
Autumn Champion ARIZ SR OF Tustin, Calif.
Ashley Charters WASH SO UT Newberg, Ore.
Krista Colburn UCLA SO OF Mukilteo, Wash.
Maddy Coon STAN FR 3B/SS Chappaqua, N.Y.
Mindy Cowles ASU SO 2B Riverside, Calif.
Lindsay James CAL SR OF San Carlos, Calif.
Dominique Lastrapes WASH JR 2B Laguna Hills, Calif.
Danielle Lawrie WASH FR P Langley, B.C.
Mia Longfellow OSU JR SS Ramona, Calif.
Breanne Sabol ORE SR SS Buena Park, Calif.
Alex Sutton CAL JR OF Morgan Hill, Calif.
Emily Zaplatosch UCLA SR C Scottsdale, Ariz.


Player School Yr Pos Hometown
Lisa Allen OSU SR C Canby, Ore.
Rhiannon Baca ASU SO SS Flagstaff, Ariz.
Dani Baird ORE SR OF/DP Mount Vernon, Wash.
Callista Balko ARIZ SO IF/C Tucson, Ariz.
Suzie Barnes ORE JR 2B Lake Forest Park, Wash.
Beth Boskovich ORE SR 1B Camarillo, Calif.
Lisa Dodd UCLA JR P/UT San Diego, Calif.
Alissa Eno UCLA SR 3B El Segundo, Calif.
Emily Friedman CAL SR 2B Berkeley, Calif.
Amy Harris ORE SR P Eugene, Ore.
Tara Henry UCLA JR OF Orange, Calif.
Sarah Hyatt WASH SR 3B/1B Sedro-Wooley, Wash.
Sari Jenkins ORE FR OF Salem, Ore.
Becky McCullough STAN SO P Moraga, Calif.
Aimee Minor WASH SR OF San Jacinto, Calif.
Taryne Mowatt ARIZ SO P Corona, Calif.
Missy Penna STAN FR P/UT Miami, Fla.
Jackie Rinehart STAN JR OF Reno, Nev.
Desiree Serrano ASU SR P Colton, Calif.
Morgan Siegel CAL FR OF Antioch, Calif.
Michelle Smith STAN SO 3B/1B Agoura Hills, Calif.
Jackie Vasquez ASU SO OF Tucson, Ariz.
Ashley Werschky ASU SR UT La Verne, Calif.
DeAnn Young OSU FR 1B Camarillo, Calif.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder