Stanford Women Head To NCAA Championships

May 22, 2006

Stanford Heads To Colombus For NCCA Championships: The Stanford women's golf team has advanced to the 2006 NCAA Women's Golf Championship for the 18th consecutive year. The event, which will be hosted by the Ohio State University and held at the Scarlet Course in Columbus, Ohio., takes place May 23-26. A practice round will be held on Sunday and another one Monday, followed by 18 holes each day, beginning Tuesday at 8 a.m. (EDT) and running through Friday.

Stanford enters the championships ranked 19th in the Golfweek rankings.

The Ohio State Scarlet Golf Course will play host to the NCAA Championships, stretching 6,203 yards, a par 72. The 2006 NCAA Championships mark the fourth time since 1982 that Ohio State has hosted the event.

The Field: The 24-team field includes the top eight teams from each region and the top-two individuals from each region. Tennessee, USC and Purdue were the champions of their respective regions. Seven teams from the Pac-10 qualified for the NCAA Championships including Arizona, Arizona State, California, Stanford, USC, UCLA and Washington. Also competing will be LSU, Florida State, Auburn, Wake Forest, Alabama, Duke, Pepperdine, Florida, Oklahoma State, Texas A&M, Kent State, Nebraska, Georgia, UNLV and Arkansas. The six individual competitors are Lauren Smith, Augusta State; Leah Wigger, Virginia; Devan Anderson, Texas; Julia Best, Texas; Rachel Newren, Brigham Young and Joanna Klatten, Georgia State. The seeding for the event is according to each team's finish at the regional event.

Tournament Format: The 2006 NCAA Championship features 72 holes of stroke play golf over four days of competition to decide the team and individual champions. For the Championship, the Scarlet Course will play as a par-72 at 6,203 yards. The tournament features 18 holes of play on each day, beginning at 8 a.m. ET. Participants will play in threesomes during the competition. Teams participating in the NCAA Championship shall consist of a maximum of five players (with four scores counting each day toward the team total). First and second round team pairings are determined by seeding. Following the second round of competition, team scores shall determine the pairings. Split tees (#1 and #10) will be used during each round. Team and individual ties shall be broken in accordance with NCAA rules.

The Cardinal will be paired with Florida State and Florida during the first and second rounds. That group will tee off from the 10th tee starting at 1:20 p.m. on Tuesday.

Results and Live Stats: Live scoring for the NCAA Championship will be available at

How They Got Here: The Stanford women's golf team advanced to the NCAA Championships by finishing fourth at the 2006 West Regional in Auburn, Wash. The Cardinal shot a 298, bringing their three round total to 896. Freshman Mari Chun led the squad with a tie for 13th individually. Jennifer Tangtiphaiboontana also turned in a top 20 finish, tying for 17th overall with a nine over 225 (74-74-77) while teammate Lauren Todd tied for 24th with a 10 over 226 (76-74-76). Freshman Ki-Shui Liao fired a one under par 71 today to move up the individual leaderboard, tying for 29th overall with a 227 (79-77-71). Teammate Kelly Husted tied for 40th on the day after carding a 231 (75-76-80).

Last Year At NCAAs: The Stanford women's golf team placed 19th at the 2005 NCAA Division I Women's Golf Championships by five strokes on Friday at the Sunriver Resort's Meadows Course. The Cardinal shot a four-round total of 1212 (300-311-298-303). Lauren Todd led the team with a tie for 45th individually after shooting a 300 (73-81-71-75) while teammate Kelly Husted tied for 53rd with a 301 (77-73-75-76). Senior Wendra Liang (71-82-77-76--306) along with Jennifer Tangtiphaiboontana (79-75-76-76--306) tied for 78th. Stephanie Lue tied for 121st (80-86-76-79--321).

All-Conference Honors: Two Stanford golfers received all-conference honors following the Pac-10 Championships as Jennifer Tangtiphaiboontana and Kelly Husted were named honorable mentions on the 2006 Pacific-10 All-Conference team.

Below are the 24 teams competing for the NCAA title plus six individuals included in the individual competition, listed under the regional from which they qualified. All participants will compete throughout the entire 72 holes of competition. In the team competition, the low four scores for each team will count in each day's total score.

East Regional
1. Tennessee
2. LSU
3. California
4. Florida State
5. Arizona State
6. Auburn
7. Wake Forest

8. Alabama

1. Lauren Smith, Augusta State
2. Leah Wigger, Virginia

Central Region
1. USC
2. Duke
3. Pepperdine
4. Florida

5. Oklahoma State
6. Texas A&M
7. Kent State
8. Nebraska

1. Devan Andersen, Texas
2. Julia Best, Texas

West Region
1. Purdue

3. Washington
4. Stanford
5. Georgia
7. Arizona
8. Arkansas

1. Rachel Newren, Brigham Young

2. Joanna Klatten, Georgia State

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder