Three USC Rowers Earn All-West Region Honors

May 22, 2006

Three USC Rowers Earn All-West Region Honors

Kaviere, Boldyreva and Biging represent USC on first and second teams.

Three USC women's rowers have been named to the 2006 All-West Region Team, announced the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) on Monday, May 22, 2006. Sophomore Ligita Kaviere earned her second-straight honor, after being named to the All-Region second team as a freshman. This marks the first honor for Sophomore Tatiana Boldyreva and Senior Captain Megan Biging.

Kaviere and Boldyreva were named to the All-Region first team and are now eligible for national honors and Biging was named to the second team.

The awards recognize the outstanding performance of rowers and coxswains from each of the five Division I regions during the current season. The nomination criteria include meeting eligibility rules as defined by her institution, participating in at least 75% of the season's races in the varsity boat, and the student-athlete's head coach must be a member in good standing of the CRCA. A maximum of four athletes plus one coxswain per institution may be nominated.

The All-Region teams were selected as follows: Teams with Varsity 8 boats that were ranked in the top 6 regionally as of the final NCAA Regional Ranking had athletes automatically distributed to the All-Region teams. At-large selections (for rowers from teams that have Varsity Eight boats which finished outside the top 6 regionally) were chosen by the Division I Awards Committee based on boat performance, 2K erg score and coaches comments. Coxswains were also selected by the Division I Awards Committee based on boat performance and coaches comments.

2006 CRCA All-Region West Team 1st Team Kaylan Vander Schilden CaliforniaErin Cafaro CaliforniaJelena Djukic CaliforniaSarah Waterfield Washington StateJody Thomas Washington StateLigita Kaviere USCTatiana Boldyreva USC Megan Kalmoe WashingtonSusan Be Ville StanfordVanessa Teff UCLACaroline Leibinger Oregon StateLiz Stewart LMUKrista Ellis coxswain California

2nd Team Erin Reinhardt CaliforniaKasia Bloch Washington StateLaura Griffin Washington StateMegan Biging USC Allison DePalma WashingtonKerry Birk StanfordJanine LaCrosse Sacramento StateMia Lysen San Diego StateKelly O'Brien coxswain Washington State

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
  • Pac-12 Sports Report: NBA Draft Special
    Thu 6/21 | 2:00pm PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder