Stanford Headed To Texas For NCAA Regional

May 29, 2006

Indianapolis, Ind. - Stanford (30-25) will begin the 2006 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship by traveling to a regional hosted by the University of Texas (Austin, Texas) this Friday-Monday, June 2-5. The Cardinal is seeded third in the regional and will play No. 2 seed North Carolina State (38-21) in its first postseason game on Friday, June 2 (11 am, CT/9 am, PT). Host and Big 12 regular season champion Texas (40-19), the top seed in the regional and the No. 3 national seed, will also open regional play on Friday (3 pm, CT/1 pm, PT) versus fourth-seeded Texas-Arlington (29-34).

All games in the regional will be televised live on ESPNU.

The regional will continue on Saturday with the losers of Friday's contests playing an elimination game (Game 3) at 11 am, CT/9 am, PT. Friday's winners will square off in a winners' bracket game (Game 4) at 3 pm, CT/1 pm, PT.

The Game 3 winner and Game 4 loser will play an elimination contest (Game 5) on Sunday at Noon, CT/10 am, PT.

The first championship game will pit the Game 4 and Game 5 winners on Sunday at 4 pm, CT/2 pm, PT. A second championship game (Game 7), if necessary, will be played on Monday (6 pm, CT/4 pm, PT). The second championship contest would be necessary if the winner of Game 5 defeats the winner of Game 4 in the first championship game.

The bracket for the entire 64-team field, top eight national seeds and site assignments for the 2006 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship were announced live on ESPN during a half-hour television program on Monday. The committee set the tournament bracket through both the super regionals and the first round of the College World Series, and will not reseed the field after play begins.

To purchase tickets from the Stanford Athletics Ticket Office, call at 1-800-STANFORD beginning at Noon, PT, on Tuesday, May 30. Purchasing tickets through this method will allow you to set in the Stanford section.

Tickets may also be ordered online at, by phone at 800/982-BEVO or 512/471-3333, or in person at the UT Athletics Ticket Office in Bellmont Hall between 9 am - 4 pm (Central) beginning on Tuesday, May 30. The Disch-Falk Field ticket office also will be open from 10 am - 6 pm (Central) from Tuesday, May 30 through Thursday, June 1 and will open two hours prior to the day's opening session on all game days during the Regional.

Regional all-session ticket prices are $60 for reserved seats and $45 for general admission. Individual session tickets (if available) will go on sale at 9 am, CT, on Friday, June 2 and can be ordered online, by phone or at the Disch-Falk Field ticket booth. Prices for individual session tickets are $12 for reserved seats and $9 for general admission.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Unable to get Pac-12 Network?
Contact your provider ▶
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder