UCLA's Kohlloeffel Wins NCAA Men's Singles Championship

May 29, 2006

Results | Quotes | Notes

UCLA's Benjamin Kohlleoffel won the 2006 NCAA men's singles championship today by defeating Somdev Devvarman of Virginia, 6-1, 6-4 at the Taube Tennis Center. Kohlleoffel, a junior from Herne, Germany, entered the tournament as the No. 1 seeded player. He became the first Bruin to win the NCAA men's singles championships since his coach, Billy Martin, won it in 1975.

Kohlleoffel finished the year with a 47-4 overall record after winning 27 of his last 28 matches. He became first Bruin since Justin Gimelstob in 1996 to reach No. 1 in Fila Rankings. Kohlleoffel, who held No. 1 ranking since April 4, has been ranked in the top three the entire season.

Prior to this season, the last Bruin to reach an NCAA final was Jason Netter in 1990. All told, UCLA has had nine NCAA singles champs: 1933 - Jack Tidball; 1950 - Herbert Flam, 1960 - Larry Nagler, 1961 - Allen Fox, 1965 - Arthur Ashe, 1966 - Charlie Pasarell, 1970 - Jeff Borowiak, 1971 - Jimmy Connors, 1975 - Martin. The Bruins have reached the final 15 times overall.

Kohlleoffel captured the championship at ITA National Indoor Championships in November in Columbus, Ohio. He is the only player to win ITA National Indoor and NCAA titles in same season since Sargis Sargsian of Arizona State in 1995.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder