Pac-10 Tennis Season Wrap-Up

May 30, 2006

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader


UCLA's Benjamin Kohlloeffel became the first Bruin since 1975 to capture an NCAA men's singles title. The junior ended the school's 30-year championship drought with a 6-1, 6-4 victory over Virginia's Somdev Devvarman.

STANFORD and UCLA tied for the Conference Championship, as both posted a 6-1 record in Pac-10 play. Stanford's Matt Bruch won the singles title at the Pac-10 Individual Championships in Ojai, Calif., while UCLA's Mathieu Dehaine and Jeremy Drean won the doubles title.

The Pac-10 Player of the Year honor went to CALIFORNIA'S Conor Niland, while UCLA's Phillip Gruendler and Kohlloeffel received Doubles Team of the Year honors.

Stanford head coach John Whitlinger was named Pac-10 Coach of the Year after guiding the Cardinal to a 6-1 Conference record (15-3 overall) and a share of the Pac-10 team title.


STANFORD won the Conference title outright after posting perfect marks of 8-0 in Conference play and a 23-0 record overall. The Cardinal capped off the year by winning their 15th NCAA title, the fifth in six years. CALIFORNIA sophomore Suzi Babos became the first ever Cal women's tennis player to win the NCAA singles title in an all-Pac-10 final, defeating USC's Lindsey Nelson to take the trophy.

At the Pac-10 Individual Championships in Ojai, Calif., California's Zsuzsanna Fodor won the singles title. In doubles action, Stanford's Alice Barnes and Anne Yelsey took top honors for the second straight year.

Pac-10 Player of the Year honors went to Fodor while Doubles Team of the Year went to Barnes and Yelsey. Amanda Fink of USC won this year's Freshman of the Year award.

USC's Richard Gallien was selected as Pac-10 Coach of the Year after guiding the Women of Troy to a 7-1 Pac-10 record, good for second in the league, and a 17-3 mark overall. In his 11 years at Troy, Gallien has led USC to 11 consecutive NCAA tournament berths. Under Gallien's watch, USC has finished no lower than 11th for the past seven years. This is his second Coach of the Year honor.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder