Duran Nominated for Softball Honda Award

May 31, 2006

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. - UCLA senior Andrea Duran has added to her list of accomplishments this season with a nomination for the 2006 Honda Sports Award for softball. The winner will be decided by nationwide voting among NCAA member schools and will receive the Honda Award for softball and become a nominee for the Honda-Broderick Cup awarded annually to the nation's outstanding collegiate woman athlete of the year.

UCLA Softball players have won nine Honda Sports Awards for softball since the inception of the award in 1976. The list includes Debbie Doom (1984), Lisa Longaker (1988 and 1990), Janice Parks (1989), Lisa Fernandez (1991, '92 and '93), Jennifer Brundage (1995) and Natasha Watley (2003). The only two softball players to earn the Honda-Broderick Cup came from UCLA, Fernandez in 1993 and Watley in 2003.

Joining Duran on the list of nominees are Cat Osterman of Texas and Sara Fekete and Monica Abbot of Tennessee.

UCLA is the top seed for the NCAA Women's College World Series and begins WCWS play on Thursday night at approximately 6 pm pacific time. The Bruins will play eighth-seeded Tennessee and the game will be broadcast live by ESPN2.

Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder