Sixteen Track and Field Athletes Earn Pac-10 All Academic Honors

May 31, 2006

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Sixteen California track and field athletes were named to the Pac-10 All-Academic team, Commissioner Tom Hanson announced Wednesday. Nine women and seven men earned the honors.

For the women, Trinety White (horizontal jumps, javelin) was selected to the second team. Listed as honorable mention All-Academic were Kelechi Anyanwu (throws), Tifani Grimes (multi-events, high jump), Alexandra Hunnings (throws), Carrie Johnson (throws), Tiffany Johnson (sprints, jumps), Osarhiemen Omwanghe (sprints, hurdles, relays), Cassandra Strickland (horizontal jumps) and Artensia Young (horizontal jumps).

On the men's side, Alex Beitashour (sprints), Adam Burgh (javelin) and Kurt Seefeld (throws) garnered second-team honors. Donny Appanaitis (pole vault), Craig Gallimore (sprints, hurdles), Jonas Hallgrimmson (multi-events, javelin), and John Ludden (throws) earned the honorable mention nod.

To be eligible for selection to the Pac-10 All-Academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade point average and be either a starter or significant contributor for his team.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder