14 Pac-10 Softball Players Named to Lousiville Slugger/NFCA All-American Team

June 1, 2006

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.-- 14 Pac-10 softball players have been named to the Louisville Slugger/NFCA NCAA Division I All-American Team. The Conference landed seven players on the first team, three on the second and four on the third. UCLA and ARIZONA each placed three players on the team, while CALIFORNIA, OREGON STATE and WASHINGTON had two, and ARIZONA STATE and STANFORD had one player honored.

Arizona juniors Caitlin Lowe and Kristie Fox repeated as first-team All-Americans, while teammate Alicia Hollowell, a senior pitcher, earned her fourth All-America honor. Lowe wasa first-team pick for the third consecutive year. Fox earned the same honor in 2005, while Hollowell was a first-team selection as a freshman and sophomore, and a second-team pick last year. She is one of only four Wildcat softball players to earn four-time All-America honors, joining catcher Leah Braatz, outfielder Lauren Bauerand first baseman Amy Chellevold. Lowe and Fox were at-large selections on the first team while Hollowell made it as a pitcher.

For the Bruins, Pac-10 Player of the Year Andrea Duran was named a first-team All-American at third base, as was sophomore pitcher Anjelica Selden as an at-large selection. Senior Caitlin Benyi earned second-team honors at second base. This is the first All-America honor for Duran, the second for Selden and third for Benyi. UCLA softball student-athletes have now earned 86 All-America honors since current head coach Sue Enquist earned the program's first All-America honor in 1978.

Senior catcher Haley Woods from California was named to the first team and senior pitcher Kristina Thorson earned second-team honors. It marks Woods' first All-American award, while Thorson has been named to the second team the past two seasons. This marks the sixth consecutive year that at least two Cal players have been awarded All-American distinction.

Oregon State sophomore utility player Cambria Miranda earned first team honors and pitcher Brianne McGowan earned third team honors. This marks the first year in which Oregon State's softball program had multiple players garner All-America status in the same season. Miranda is one of just three first team All-America selections in Oregon State softball history (McGowan in 2005 and Tarrah Beyster in 2000). McGowan picks up All-America accolades for the second straight year, garnering third team status after making the first team in 2005.

Washington landed two players on the third team, junior Dominique Lastrapes at second base and sophomore Ashley Charters as an at-large selection. Lastrapes earned third team honors in 2004, and this is the first All-America honor for Charters. The Huskies have had 31 All-American players all-time.

Pac-10 Freshman of the Year Kaitlin Cochran earned first team honors for Arizona State, marking just the 11th first-team selection all-time for the Sun Devils. Cochran led the Pac-10 in nearly every offensive category this season, and propelled ASU to its first Women's College World Series appearance since 2002.

Stanford's Catalina Morris was named to the third team. Morris was also a First-Team All-Pac-10 and First-Team All-Pacific Region selection earlier this season. She earned Pac-10 Player of the Week honors on May 16 after leading the Cardinal to wins over Washington and UCLA in the closing weekend of Pac-10 action. Morris closed out the season with a team-leading .365 batting average, 39 runs and 29 RBI. She also boasts a .988 fielding percentage in center field with just one error.

Louisville Slugger/NFCA NCAA Division I All-America Teams

First TeamPos. Name                SchoolP    Monica Abbott       University of TennesseeP    Cat Osterman        University of TexasP    Jennie Ritter       University of MichiganC    Haley Woods         University of California1B   Jenna Hall          University of Illinois2B   Veronica Wootson    Florida State University3B   Andrea Duran        University of California, Los AngelesSS   Lindsay Schutzler   University of TennesseeOF   Sarah Fekete        University of TennesseeOF   Danyele Gomez       University of Louisiana at LafayetteOF   Katie Cochran       Arizona State UniversityUT   Cambria Miranda     Oregon State UniversityDP   Kristi Durant       University of TennesseeAL   Tonya Callahan      University of TennesseeAL   Kristie Fox         University of ArizonaAL   Caitlin Lowe        University of ArizonaAL   Anjelica Selden     University of California, Los AngelesAL   Kristin Vesely      University of Oklahoma
Second TeamPos. Name                SchoolP    Alicia Hollowell    University of ArizonaP    Angela Tincher      Virginia Tech UniversityP    Kristina Thorson    University of CaliforniaC    Rachel Folden       Marshall University1B   Ianeta Le'I         Brigham Young University2B   Caitlin Benyi       University of California, Los Angeles3B   Brette Reagan       Baylor UniversitySS   Christina Clark     Fresno State UniversityOF   Norrelle Dickson    University of OklahomaOF   Kellie Middleton    University of GeorgiaOF   Lindy Winkler       California State University, SacramentoUT   Serena Settlemier   University of KansasDP   Jessica Strickland  Colorado State UniversityAL   Eileen Canney       Northwestern UniversityAL   Gina Carbonatto     University of the PacificAL   Alexis Switenko     Syracuse UniversityAL   Stephanie VanBrakle University of AlabamaAL   Jackie Wong         University of Utah
Third TeamPos. Name                SchoolP    Brianne McGowan     Oregon State UniversityP    Emily Turner        Louisiana State UniversityP    Crystal Cox         University of North CarolinaC    Becky Marx          University of Michigan1B   Garland Cooper      Northwestern University2B   Dominique Lastrapes University of Washington3B   Megan McAllister    University of GeorgiaSS   Tammy Williams      Northwestern UniversityOF   Catalina Morris     Stanford UniversityOF   Stephanie Brown     University of Notre DameOF   Brittany Rogers     University of AlabamaUT   Jessica Doucette    University of GeorgiaDP   Amber Smith         Illinois State UniversityAL   Leslie Klein        Louisiana State UniversityAL   Lacy Wood           University of LouisvilleAL   Ashley Charters     University of WashingtonAL   Erin Floros         San Diego State UniversityAL   Chelsi Lake         Baylor University
Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder