Two Trojans Named To All-America Teams

June 1, 2006

USC rowers Ligita Kaviere and Tatiana Boldyreva have been named to the 2006 Pocock CRCA All-American teams, announced the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) on Wednesday, May 31. Kaviere, a sophomore was named to the first team, while Boldyreva, a sophomore, earned second team accolades. This is their first such honor.

Both rowers were members of the Trojans Varsity Eight boat this season, leading the team to a ninth-straight appearance at the NCAA Championships. This year the team was nationally ranked as high as a No.3, the highest USC has seen since Zenon and Kelly Babraj took over the program in 2002.

The West Region produced the most All-America selections with 13, including five first-team honorees. The awards, presented by Pocock, recognize the outstanding accomplishments of female rowers and coxswains for the spring season. Forty-two student-athletes were honored, 20 first-team selections and 22 second-team selections.

The criteria include meeting eligibility rules as defined by the athlete's institution, participating in at least 75 percent of the season's races in the varsity boat, and the student-athlete's Head Coach must be a member in good standing of the CRCA.

The All-America first and second teams were selected by the regional chairpersons following the NCAA Championships from the rowers who had received All-Region first team honors.

2006 Pocock First-Team All-America Selections

Deborah Dryer BrownGillian Almy BrownKaylan Vander Schilden CaliforniaErin Cafaro CaliforniaSarah Cooper ClemsonKate Davison DartmouthChristen Brown Michigan StateJennifer Barnes MinnesotaAmanda Polk Notre DameNinett Kossowsky Ohio StateCaroline Lind PrincetonDevan Darby PrincetonJaqueline Zider PrincetonElizabeth Agnew Princeton (coxswain)Ligita Kaviere Southern CaliforniaHeather Gardner VirginiaMegan Kalmoe WashingtonSarah Waterfield Washington StateRachel Jeffers YaleMaria Stevens Yale

2006 Pocock Second-Team All-America Selections

Rachel Dearborn BrownJelena Djukic CaliforniaKrista Ellis California (coxswain)Krystina Sarff Central FloridaLia Hart DukeKate Austin George WashingtonLaura Lazaridis IndianaLiz Stewart Loyola MarymountEllen Tomek MichiganKatherine Glessner NortheasternJulie Sobolewski Notre DameSarah Palandech Notre DameAnnabelle Fago Ohio StateCaroline Leibinger Oregon StateAshley Luther Southern MethodistSusan BeVille StanfordErin-Monique Shelton TennesseeVanessa Teff UCLATatiana Boldyreva Southern CaliforniaMelanie Kok VirginiaJody Thomas Washington StateKirby Gallie Wisconsin

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder