Irene Cho Wins Honda Award

June 6, 2006

USC senior Irene Cho won the Honda Award as the nation's top collegiate women's golfer for 2006, the College Women Sports Award program announced on Tuesday (June 6, 2006).

The honor was based on the results of national balloting among 1,000 NCAA member schools as part of the Collegiate Women Sports Awards program, now in its 30th year. The Honda Award is given annually to the top women athletes in 12 NCAA-sanctioned sports and includes an automatic nomination for the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year.

The other golf finalists included USC teammate Dewi-Claire Schreefel (the 2006 NCAA Championships individual title winner) and Duke freshmen Amanda Blumenherst and Jennie Lee.

Cho, ranked No. 2 by Golfweek Magazine, was a 2006 All-American first team selection and the 2006 Pac-10 Player of the Year. She won four tournaments in 2006 to tie a school season record and her five career wins also tied a USC mark. She also helped USC to a second-place finish at the 2006 NCAA Championships.

In 2006, Cho set school records for lowest stroke average in a season (72.06), lowest round (64) and lowest 54-hole score (203). Cho also holds USC's career record (12) and season record (eight) for rounds in the 60s.

Cho, a 2004 All-American second teamer and a 2003 an All-American honorable mention selection, became only USC's second three-time All-American winner with her 2006 nod.

Former Trojan Mikaela Parmlid won USC's first Honda Award for women's golf in 2003.

Previously announced 2005-2006 Honda Award recipients include Ashley Miles of Alabama for gymnastics, Seimone Augustus of LSU for basketball, Mary DeScenza and Christine Sinclair of Georgia and Portland for swimming and soccer, respectively, Courtney Thompson of Washington for volleyball, Caroline Bierbaum of Columbia for cross-country and Paula Infante of Maryland for field hockey. Honda Award winners in lacrosse, and tennis will be announced later this week. Additionally softball, track and field and the Division II & III winners will be announced in the coming weeks.

The Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year will be determined by separate balloting involving all NCAA-member institutions and the winner will receive the Honda-Broderick Cup at Columbia University in New York on June 26, 2006.

American Honda Motor Co., Inc. sponsors the Collegiate Women Sports Awards Program.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder