Alice Barnes & Anne Yelesy Named ITA National Doubles Team of the Year

June 7, 2006

Skillman, N.J. - Alice Barnes and Anne Yelsey were named the 2006 ITA National Doubles Team of the Year, announced by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association today. UCLA's Benjamin Kohlloeffel and Miami's (Fla.) Audra Cohen were selected as the ITA National Players of the Year and Illinois' Kevin Anderson and Ryan Rowe were named the ITA National Doubles Team of the Year on the men's side.

This year's award winners will be honoredduring an August26ceremony in New York.

Barnes and Yelsey are the third straight Cardinal duo to be named ITA National Women's Doubles Team of the Year (and fourth in five years). Barnes received this award with Erin Burdette last year. Barnes and Yelsey finished at No. 1 in the Fila doubles rankings. They won the ITA National Indoor title last fall and reached the semifinals of the NCAA tournament last month. They turned in a 42-4 record this season. Barnes is a senior from Cambridge, U.K., and Yelsey is a junior from Newport Beach, Calif.

As the governing body of collegiate tennis the ITA promotes both the athletic and academic achievements of the collegiate tennis community. The ITA, which is based in Skillman, N.J., administers several national and regional championship events, the ITA Collegiate Summer Circuit, presented by the USTA, and theFila Collegiate TennisRankings for men's and women's tennis at the NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and Junior College levels. The ITA also has a comprehensive awards program for players and coaches to honor excellence in academics, leadership and sportsmanship. The official ITA website is

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder