Lincecum Named Clemens Award Finalist

June 8, 2006

HOUSTON - Eddie Degerman of Rice, Tim Lincecum of Washington, Brad Lincoln of Houston and Andrew Miller of North Carolina have dominated opponents all season, and for their efforts the four have been named as finalists for the 2006 Roger Clemens Award. The winner of college baseball version of the Cy Young Award will be announced at the conclusion of the Roger Clemens Award Dinner on July 12 at the Marriott Westchase Hotel in Houston.

Normally, there are only three finalists announced for the Clemens Award each year, but this year's voting resulted in a tie between candidates. '2006 has been a very deep year for college pitching as evidenced in the most recent MLB draft as well as the very tight voting for our award,' Ray Mitchell, Co-Chairman of the Roger Clemens Award said. 'The voting was so balanced resulting in a dead heat at the end between two candidates. A tie breaker system is in place but it was our decision not to deny anyone the honor of being a finalist for the most prestigious Roger Clemens Award. Therefore, we are excited to honor all four of these great talents as they look forward joining Roger at the award's presentation dinner in Houston on July 12th.'

The ace of the top-ranked Rice Owls, Degerman is among the nation's leaders in wins (12), ERA (1.67) and strikeouts (150). He was named Most Valuable Player in Rice's win in the NCAA Regionals last weekend after fanning a season-high 14 in a 7-2 win over Baylor. He will lead the Owls into Super Regional action on Saturday when he faces Oklahoma. The fifth-year senior was taken by the St. Louis Cardinals in the fourth round of the recent first-year player draft. Degerman joins Wade Townsend (2004) to make the Owls the first school to produce two finalists for the Clemens Award.

The national leader with 199 strikeouts, the hard-throwing Lincecum was named the Pac-10 Pitcher of the Year for the second time in three seasons. He set school season marks for strikeouts and wins (12) and set career marks for wins (30), innings (342) and strikeouts (491). His career strikeout total also set a new Pac-10 mark. He became the highest drafted player in UW history when the San Francisco Giants took him with the 10th overall selection on Tuesday.

Lincoln earned Pitcher of the Year honors from Conference USA, posting a 12-2 record with a 1.69 ERA and 152 strikeouts, which ranked third in the nation. His season strikeout mark was third -best in Cougar history, as was his career total (293). He won 11 straight games before dropping a 2-1 decision to Oklahoma in NCAA regional play to end his season. He became the highest drafted UH baseball player in school history when he was taken with the fourth overall selection by the Pittsburgh Pirates.

The only lefthander in the group, Miller was the ACC Pitcher of the Year and became the first Tar Heel to top 300 career strikeouts and leads the team with 12 wins heading into a Super Regional start at Alabama on Friday night. Miller was taken with the sixth overall selection in the recent MLB draft by the Detroit Tigers.

The finalists for the 2006 Roger Clemens Award were selected after a second round of voting by all Division 1 head baseball coaches, a selection of national media who cover collegiate baseball, the 16 winners of the R. E. 'Bob' Smith Award, which was presented to the top player in the country here in Houston from 1988-2003, and the six previous finalists for the Clemens Award. Jered Weaver of Long Beach State (2004) and Luke Hochevar of Tennessee (2005) were the first two winners of the Clemens Award.

The Roger Clemens Award was named after future Hall of Famer Roger Clemens, who began his march to stardom while leading the University of Texas to the College World Series title in 1983. As a professional, Clemens has won 341 games (9th best in history), fanned 4,502 hitters and won and seven Cy Young Awards, emblematic as the top pitcher in his league. The Roger Clemens Award is the only award of its kind, honoring the finest pitchers in college baseball.

The event is administered by the Greater Houston Baseball Association, who has donated over $200,000 to the charities from the net proceeds from the first two dinners. The GHBA is a non-profit 501.3 (C) organization dedicated to the growth of amateur baseball in the Houston area.

For additional information on tables and tickets, please call the Greater Houston Baseball Association at (713) 739-0505 or write to The Roger Clemens Award, 2550 S. Sam Houston Parkway West, Houston, TX 77047.

The above text was provided by the Roger Clemens Award.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder