Loren Howard Named To Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List

June 8, 2006

TEMPE, Ariz. - Arizona State University senior defensive end Loren Howard has been named to the 2006 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List. The Nagurski Trophy is annually presented to the nation's top defensive player by the Charlotte Touchdown Club and the Football Writers Association of America. Howard is one of 55 student-athletes on the preseason watch list, and one of seven from the Pacific-10 Conference.

Howard, from Scottsdale, Ariz., sat out last season after transferring to ASU from Northwestern. He was a freshmen All-American and Honorable Mention All-Big-10 performer during his three seasons with the Wildcats.

The Nagurski Trophy will be awarded on December 4th in Charlotte, North Carolina. The Football Writers Association of America will select the winner from the five finalists named in November. Last season's winner was Elvis Dumervil of Louisville.

The FWAA All-America Committee selects the Bronko Nagurski winner from the association's 11-man All-America defensive team in late November. For the sixth straight season, the FWAA will select Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Players of the Week, with each national player of the week being added to the trophy's watch list throughout the season.

Former Sun Devil defensive end Terrell Suggs won the Bronko Nagurski Award in 2003.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder