Three Men's Golfers Earn All-America Honors

June 8, 2006

Senior Alejandro Canizares earned first-team honors, junior Niklas earned third-team and freshman Benjamin Alvarado Holley was an honorable mention selection by the Golf Coaches Association of America as it announced the Division I PING All-America teams.

Canizares, who finished tied for sixth at the 2006 NCAA Championships, finished his career with a 71.46 stroke average in 49 events. He won six career tournaments, including the 2003 NCAA title, and had 22 top-10 finishes. This past season he posted a 71.22 stroke average, seventh-best in ASU history, and had five top-five appearances.

He ended tied for third on the ASU career wins list with six, behind Phil Mickelson (16) and Billy Mayfair (8) and tied with Paul Casey and Charlie Gibson.

Canizares, who earned first-team honors in 2003 and third-team honors in 2004 and 2005, is just the fourth Sun Devil to earn All-America honors all four years, joining Todd Demsey (1992-95), Phil Mickelson (1989-92) and Billy Mayfair (1985-88).

Lemke eanred his second All-America honor after notching honorable mention in 2005. He posted a 71.68 stroke average this year in 13 events including five top-10 finishes and four top-five finishes. He has a 72.70 stroke average 36 career events through three seasons. He was 18-under par in his final five tournaments.

Alvarado Holley had a 72.50 stroke average, the fifth-best freshman season in ASU history. He posted one top-10 finish as he tied for seventh at the Southern Highlands Championship in Las Vegas (March 10-12). He played in 10 tournaments on the year, fourth-most on the team.

A total of 32 golfers were named honorable mention All-America.

Division I PING All-America TeamsFirst TeamRyan Baca, BaylorAlejandro Cañizares, Arizona StateRhys Davies, East Tennessee StateMatt Every, FloridaOscar Floren, Texas TechBilly Horschel, FloridaDustin Johnson, Coastal CarolinaChris Kirk, GeorgiaPablo Martin, Oklahoma StateJonathan Moore, Oklahoma State

Second TeamRyan Blaum, DukeJay Choi, New MexicoErik Flores, UCLAMark Haastrup, Georgia StateBrian Harman, GeorgiaAnthony Kim, OklahomaKyle Reifers, Wake ForestBrett Stegmaier, FloridaCameron Tringale, Georgia TechDawie Van der Walt, Lamar

Third TeamAndrew Dresser, Texas TechAndres Gonzales, UNLVRob Grube, StanfordKevin Larsen, Georgia TechNiklas Lemke, Arizona StateStephen Lewton, NC StateAlex Prugh, WashingtonMartin Ureta, North CarolinaJames Vargas, FloridaTaylor Wood, Southern California

Honorable MentionBenjamin Alvarado Holley, Arizona StateZach Bixler, WashingtonRoberto Castro, Georgia TechKevin Chappell, UCLAAlex Coe, PepperdineBrian Duncan, ClemsonJake Ellison, Brigham YoungTravis Esway, ArizonaDaniel Im, UCLAEirik Johansen, South CarolinaKevin Kisner, GeorgiaRussell Knox, JacksonvilleMatt Kohn, KentuckyBronson LaCassie, MinnesotaTyler Leon, Oklahoma StateJames Lepp, WashingtonLuke List, VanderbiltBrian Locke, Loyola MarymountJames Love, DenverEdward McGlasson, ColoradoAndrew Parr, Texas A&MStephen Poole, ClemsonRichard Scott, GeorgiaWebb Simpson, Wake ForestDusty Smith, LamarScott Stallings, Tennesse TechDaniel Summerhays, Brigham YoungJared Texter, UNLVBrendon Todd, GeorgiaNiall Turner, MinnesotaCasey Watabu, NevadaAndy Winings, Kentucky

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder