2006 Pac-10 Track and Field Honors Announced

June 19, 2006


Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Robert Cheseret of ARIZONA was named the Pacific-10 Conference Men's Track Athlete of the Year, while OREGON's Tommy Skipper collected Pac-10 Men's Field Athlete of the Year honors. Virginia Powell of USC was tabbed Pac-10 Women's Track Athlete of the Year, while UCLA's Chelsea Johnson was named Pac-10 Women's Field Athlete of the Year, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

UCLA swept the Newcomer of the Year honors as Kevin Craddock was tabbed the Pac-10 Men's Track and Field Newcomer of the Year, while the Bruins' Nicole Leach was named the Pac-10 Women's Track and Field Newcomer of the Year.

Also announced were the Conference Coach of the Year honors. USC's Ron Allice garnered men's Coach of the Year honors, while Arizona State's Greg Kraft was named the women's Coach of the Year.

It was the fifth time Allice has been honored by his peers. He guided USC to the Pac-10 title, the school's first since 2000, by a 6.50 margin (140 to 133.50) over host Oregon. It was the fourth Pac-10 title for USC in 12 seasons under Allice. The Trojans finished in a ninth-place tie at the NCAA Championships.

Kraft posted his first women's coaching honor after leading Arizona State to its first Conference championship. The Sun Devils scored 154 points to edge defending champion Stanford (151.50). Kraft led the Sun Devils to a fourth-place finish at the NCAA Championships, equalling the school's best-ever finish at the Championships (also in 1988 and 1990).

Cheseret, a senior from Kapsabet, Kenya, becomes the first Pac-10 athlete to earn Track Athlete of the Year honors three times. Cheseret successfully defended his Pac-10 titles at 5000 meters (13:47.50) and 10,000 meters (30:32.92). He also added a Pac-10 title in the 1500 meters (3:41.88) to give him eight Pac-10 titles during his career - the most ever by a Pac-10 track and field athlete.

Powell, a senior from Seattle, Wash., successfully defended her Pac-10 titles in both the 100 meters (11.10) and 100-meter hurdles (12.64) at the Pac-10 Championships. She's the second Pac-10 competitor to double in those events in back-to-back years, joining UCLA's Gail Devers (1987 and 1988). Powell went on to capture the NCAA title with a collegiate record clocking of 12.48 in the 100-meter hurdles. In addition, she ran the first leg of the 4x100 at the NCAA Championships as the Women of Troy finished third with a school record time of 42.96. For her efforts during the 2006 season, Powell was named the Honda Award winner as the nation's top women's track and field athlete.

Skipper, a junior from Sandy, Ore., won his second Pac-10 pole vault title in three years with a mark of 5.50m/18-0.50. He added his second consecutive NCAA pole vault title with a clearance of 5.70m/18-8.25 at the NCAA Championships.

Johnson, a senior from Altascadero, Calif., successfully defended her Pac-10 title in the pole vault with a collegiate record clearing mark of 4.60m/15-1. She placed second at the NCAA Championships with a clearance of 4.25m/13-11.25.

Craddock, a freshman from Richmond, Calif., placed second at the Pac-10 Championships in the 110-meter hurdles (13.73). He placed eighth at the NCAA Championships in the 110-meter hurdles (13.76).

Leach, a freshman from West Philadelphia, Pa., took top honors in the 400-meter hurdles (57.27) at the Pac-10 Championships, and added a second-place finish in the 400 meters (52.61). Leach was impressive at the NCAA Championships as well, finishing fourth in the 400-meter hurdles (55.93).

The honors were decided by a vote of the Conference's track and field coaches.

Previous Pac-10 Track and Field Award Winners

Men's Award Winners

	Track Athlete of the Year	Field Athlete of the Year	Newcomer of the Year	Coach of the Year2006	Robert Cheseret, ARIZ		Tommy Skipper, ORE		Kevin Craddock, UCLA	Ron Allice, USC2005	Robert Cheseret, ARIZ		Jesse Williams, USC		Galen Rupp, ORE		Coaching Staff, ORE2004	Robert Cheseret, ARIZ						Tommy Skipper, ORE	Art Venegas, UCLA2003	Ryan Wilson, USC						Allen Simms, USC	Ron Allice, USC2002	Anson Henry, WSU						Julien Kapek, USC	Martin Smith, ORE2001	Marcus Brunson, ASU						Donald Sage, STAN	Vin Lananna, STAN2000	Ja'Warren Hooker, WASH						Jason Boness, ORE	Ron Allice, USC												Vin Lananna, STAN1999	Jerome Davis, USC/									Ron Allice, USC	Bernard Lagat, WSU1998	Ja'Warren Hooker, WASH									Bob Larsen, UCLA1997	Mebrahtom Keflezighi, UCLA								Ron Allice, USC1996	Ato Boldon, UCLA									Bob Larsen, UCLA1995	John Godina, UCLA									Bob Larsen, UCLA1994	Josephat Kapkory, WSU									Bob Larsen, UCLA1993	Martin Keino, ARIZ									Bob Larsen, UCLA1992	Quincy Watts, USC									Bob Larsen, UCLA1991	Samuel Kibiri, WSU									John Chaplin, WSU1990	Steve Lewis, UCLA									Bill Dellinger, ORE1989	Derek Huff, ARIZ									Bob Larsen, UCLA1988	Danny Everett, UCLA									Bob Larsen, UCLA1987	Jim Banich, UCLA									Bob Larsen, UCLA1986	Gabriel Tiacoh, WSU									Bill Dellinger, ORE1985	Darwin Cook, USC									John Chaplin, WSU1984	Joaquim Cruz, ORE									Bill Dellinger, ORE1983	Dean Crouser, ORE									John Chaplin, WSU1982	Dean Crouser, ORE									Jim Bush, UCLA1981	LaMonte King, ASU									Len Miller, ASU1980	James Sanford, USC									Jim Bush, UCLA1979	Greg Foster, UCLA									Bill Dellinger, ORE1978	Clancy Edwards, USC									Bill Dellinger, ORE1977	Clancy Edwards, USC									Vern Wolfe, USC1976	Tony Sandoval, STAN/									Vern Wolfe, USC	Ken Randle, USC										Ken Shannon, WASH

Women's Award Winners

	Track Athlete of the Year	Field Athlete of the Year	Newcomer of the Year	Coach of the Year2006	Virginia Powell, USC		Chelsea Johnson, UCLA		Nicole Leach, UCLA	Greg Kraft, ASU2005	Monique Henderson, UCLA		Jessica Cosby, UCLA		Erica McLain, STAN	Edrick Floreal, STAN2004	Sheena Johnson, UCLA						Jacquelyn Johnson, ASU	Jeanette Bolden, UCLA2003	Lena Nilsson, UCLA						Virginia Powell, USC	Jeanette Bolden, UCLA2002	Lena Nilsson, UCLA						Monique Henderson, UCLA	Jeanette Bolden, UCLA2001	Brianna Glenn, ARIZ						Sheena Johnson, UCLA	Jeanette Bolden, UCLA2000	Seilala Sua, UCLA						Lauren Fleshman, STAN	Jeanette Bolden, UCLA1999	Seilala Sua, UCLA									Jeanette Bolden, UCLA1998	Amy Skieresz, ARIZ									Jeanette Bolden, UCLA1997	Amy Skieresz, ARIZ									Jeanette Bolden, UCLA1996	Amy Acuff, UCLA										Ron Allice, USC1995	Amy Acuff, UCLA										Jeanette Bolden, UCLA1994	Inger Miller, USC									Jeanette Bolden, UCLA/												Leonard Braxton, ASU1993	Kelly Blair, ORE									Bob Kersee, UCLA1992	Chryste Gaines, STAN									Tom Heinonen, ORE1991	Paula Berry, ORE									Tom Heinonen, ORE1990	Sheila Hudson, CAL									Bob Kersee, UCLA1989	Tonya Sedwick, UCLA									Bob Kersee, UCLA1988	Gail Devers, UCLA									Bob Kersee, UCLA1987	Gail Devers, UCLA									Bob Kersee, UCLA
Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder