Swimmers to Compete at Santa Clara Invitational Beginning on Thursday

June 22, 2006

Eleven current Bruins will head north for the 39th annual Santa Clara Invitational beginning on Thursday, June 22 at the George F. Haines International Swim Center for summer competition. The meet ends on Sunday, June 25.

A stacked field of 15 American Olympians is scheduled to compete against a strong contingent of international swimmers this weekend, as the meet is the third stop in the 2006 Grand Prix series.

Timed finals for the women's 800m freestyle and men's 1500m free are on Thursday afternoon at 4 p.m. Prelims will begin Friday through Sunday at 9 a.m., with finals contested at 5 p.m.

Competing for UCLA are: Luisa Los-Santos, Jeana Fuccillo, Isabel Miesner, Courtney Iversen, Jane Imagane and Kim Vandenberg.

Bruins also heading to Santa Clara, but not competing for UCLA are: Chiemi Yamamoto will compete for Japan, Shannon Hackett for Canada, Amy Thurman for Orinda Aquatics and Anna Poteete for Santa Cruz.

Individual U.S. Olympic medalists scheduled to compete in the meet include: Michael Phelps (Baltimore, Md. / Club Wolverine), Natalie Coughlin (Vallejo, Calif. / Cal Aquatics), Erik Vendt (North Easton, Mass. / Club Wolverine), Brendan Hansen (Havertown, Pa. / Longhorn), Megan Jendrick (Puyallup, Wash. / King Aquatics) and Ryan Lochte (Daytona Beach, Fla. / Florida). Australian Ian Thorpe headlines the list of international stars who plan to swim at Santa Clara.

Top international swimmers scheduled to compete include: Australians Ian Thorpe, Shayne Reese, Brent Hayden, Eamon Sullivan, Joanna Fargus; Britain's Simon Burnett; and South Africa's Roland Schoeman and Lyndon Ferns.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder