Boyle Named to WBCA Board of Directors

June 23, 2006

BERKELEY, Calif. - California head coach Joanne Boyle is one of six newly elected members of the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) Board of Directors, WBCA President Doug Bruno announced earlier this week. The 27-member Board of Directors is comprised of coaches and professionals.

Newly elected members include: Sherri Coale, University of Oklahoma (Vice President); Boyle, University of California (Division I/West); Cathy Inglese, Boston College (Division I/East); and Russ Davis, Vanguard University (NAIA). Re-elected by the WBCA membership for a consecutive three-year term are Bonnie Henrickson, University of Kansas (Secretary); Pam Ruder, Southwestern University (Division III/At Large); Lisa Bluder, University of Iowa (Division I/Midwest); and Stephanie Glance, North Carolina State University (Assistant Coaches).

Newly appointed members include: Karen Tessmer, Worcester State College (Division III Legislative Chair); and Kathy Richey-Walton, Southwest DeKalb High School (High School).

Other members of the WBCA Board of Directors include: Bruno, DePaul University (President); Dianne Nolan, Fairfield University (Treasurer); Wendy Larry, Old Dominion University (Past President); Cathy Parson, Howard University (Division I/Mideast); Geno Auriemma, University of Connecticut (Division I/At Large); C. Vivian Stringer, Rutgers University (Division I/At Large); Gail Goestenkors, Duke University (Division I/At Large); Gie Parsons, Clarion University (Division II/Group I); Paul Thomas, Cal State Poly Pomona (Division II/Group II); Nan Carney-DeBord, Ohio Wesleyan University (Division III/At Large); Michael Landers, Trinity Valley Community College (JC/CC); Pokey Chatman, Louisiana State University (Black Coaches Association); Sam Nichols, McMurry University (Male Coaches of Women's Basketball); Muffet McGraw, University of Notre Dame (Division I Legislative Chair); Sue Ramsey, Ashland University (Division II Legislative Chair); Donna Orender, WNBA (WNBA); and Carolyn Campbell-McGovern, Ivy League (CBI Chair).

The WBCA Board of Directors develop policies, procedures and regulations for the operation of the organization; to monitor the organization's financial health, programs and overall performance and to provide the chief executive officer with the resources to the needs of those the organization serves.

Founded in 1981, the WBCA promotes women's basketball by unifying coaches at all levels to develop a reputable identity for the sport and to foster and promote the development of the game in all of its aspects as a sport for women and girls. For more information about the WBCA, please visit

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
  • Pac-12 Sports Report: NBA Draft Special
    Thu 6/21 | 2:00pm PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder