Five Women's Track & Field Greats Named To Silver Anniversary Team

June 24, 2006

From Bob Burns/USTFCCCA - The U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) has selected a Silver Anniversary Team to recognize the top individuals, coach and school over the 25-year period that women have been competing in the NCAA Div. I Outdoor Track & Field Championships.

Five Bruin greats, the most individuals from any school, were named to the Silver Anniversary team - Sheena Johnson (400m hurdles), Amy Acuff (high jump), Tracy O'Hara (pole vault), Seilala Sua (discus/and current Bruin assistant coach) and Jackie Joyner-Kersee (heptathlon).

UCLA won the first two NCAA Outdoor Women T & F titles in 1982 (153 points in Provo, UT) and 1983 (116 1/2 points at Houston). Those Bruin teams featured such UCLA greats as Joyner-Kersee, current Bruin head coach and sprinter Jeanette Bolden, sprinter LaShon Nedd, 400m runner Arlise Emerson, distance runner Michele Bush and world record holder in both the 100m/200m Florence Griffith-Joyner.

A panel of USTFCCCA coaches selected the team on the basis of performances in the NCAA Div. I Outdoor Championships. The selections:

100 meters - Angela Williams, USC
200 - Dawn Sowell, LSU
400 - Suziann Reid, Texas
800 - Joetta Clark, Tennessee
1,500 - Suzy Favor, Wisconsin
Steeplechase - Elizabeth Jackson, BYU
5,000 - Lauren Fleschman, Stanford
10,000 - Amy Skieresz, Arizona
100 hurdles - Virginia Powell, USC
400 hurdles - Sheena Johnson, UCLA - winner of the 400m hurdles in 2003/2004.
400 relay - LSU
1,600 relay - Texas
Long jump - Sheila Echols, LSU
Triple jump - Sheila Hudson, Cal
High jump - Amy Acuff, UCLA - won the HJ in 1995 and '96.
Pole vault - Tracy O'Hara, UCLA - winner of the PV in 2000 and 2002
Shot put - Regina Cavanaugh, Rice
Discus - Seilala Sua, UCLA - only second woman in NCAA Outdoor history to win an individual event four consecutive years (1997-2000)
Hammer - Dawn Ellerbe, South Carolina
Javelin - Valerie Tulloch, Rice
Heptathlon - Jackie Joyner, UCLA - collegiate and world record holder, she won the HEP in 1982/1983.
Coach - Pat Henry
School/program - LSU

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder