Three Golfers Named to Golfweek All America Teams

June 27, 2006

Senior Alejandro Canizares earned second-team honors, junior Niklas Lemke earned third-team and freshman Benjamin Alvarado Holley was an honorable mention selection by the Golfweek All-Americans presented by Titleist.

Canizares, who finished tied for sixth at the 2006 NCAA Championships, finished his career with a 71.46 stroke average in 49 events. He won six career tournaments, including the 2003 NCAA title, and had 22 top-10 finishes. This past season he posted a 71.22 stroke average, seventh-best in ASU history, and had five top-five appearances.

He ended tied for third on the ASU career wins list with six, behind Phil Mickelson (16) and Billy Mayfair (8) and tied with Paul Casey and Charlie Gibson.

Canizares, who earned first-team honors in 2003 and third-team honors in 2004 and 2005, is just the fourth Sun Devil to earn All-America honors all four years, joining Todd Demsey (1992-95), Phil Mickelson (1989-92) and Billy Mayfair (1985-88).

Lemke earned his second All-America honor after notching honorable mention in 2005. He posted a 71.68 stroke average this year in 13 events including five top-10 finishes and four top-five finishes. He has a 72.70 stroke average 36 career events through three seasons. He was 18-under par in his final five tournaments.

Alvarado Holley had a 72.50 stroke average, the fifth-best freshman season in ASU history. He posted one top-10 finish as he tied for seventh at the Southern Highlands Championship in Las Vegas (March 10-12). He played in 10 tournaments on the year, fourth-most on the team.

Golfweek All-Americans presented by Titleist:

Player of the YearPablo Martin (Okla. St.)

Freshman of the YearJonathan Moore (Okla. St.)

First TeamPablo Martin, So. (Okla. St.)Chris Kirk, Jr. (Georgia)Jonathan Moore, Fr. (Okla. St.)Rhys Davies, Jr. (ETSU)Matt Every, Sr. (Florida)Ryan Baca, Sr. (Baylor)Ryan Blaum, Sr. (Duke)Rob Grube, So. (Stanford)Anthony Kim, Jr. (Oklahoma)Dustin Johnson, Jr. (Coast Carolina)

Second TeamAlejandro Canizares (Arizona St.)Oscar Floren, Jr. (Texas Tech)Brian Harman, Fr. (Georgia)Erik Flores, Fr. (UCLA)Billy Horschel, Fr. ( Florida)Mark Haastrup, Fr. (Georgia St.)Kyle Reifers, Sr. (Wk Forest)Cameron Tringale, Fr. (Ga. Tech)Kevin Larsen, Jr. (Ga. Tech)Webb Simpson, So. (Wk. Forest)

Third TeamBrett Stegmaier, Sr. (Florida)Niklas Lemke, Jr. (Arizona St.)Martin Ureta, Jr. (N Carolina)Alex Prugh, Jr. (Washington)Garrett Osborn, Jr. (UAB)James Vargas, Sr. (Florida)Brian Duncan, Sr. (Clemson)Jay Choi, Sr. (New Mexico)Stephen Lewton, Sr. (NC State)Taylor Wood, Sr. (USC)

Honorable MentionAndrew Dresser, Sr. (Texas Tech.)Oliver Bekker, Fr. (Lamar)Brendon Todd, Jr. (Georgia)Luke List, Jr. (Vanderbilt)Richard Scott, Sr. (Georgia)Andres Gonzales, Sr. (UNLV)Jake Grodzinsky, Jr. (Duke)Benjamin Alvarado Holley, Fr. (Arizona St.)Daniel Im, So. (UCLA)Alex Coe, Sr. (Pepperdine)Kevin Kisner, Sr. (Georgia)Stephen Poole, Sr. (Clemson)Travis Bertoni, Sr. (Cal Poly)Edward McGlasson, Sr. (Colorado)Andrew Parr, Sr. (Texas A&M)Vince Hatfield, Fr. (Clemson)Trent Leon, Fr. (Okla. St.)Henry Liaw, Jr. (Arizona)Erik Johansen, Sr. (S. Carolina)Jake Ellison, Jr. (BYU)

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder