Oregon State's Pat Casey Named National Coach of the Year by <i>Collegiate Baseball</i>

June 28, 2006

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - OREGON STATE head Coach Pat Casey has been named National Coach of The Year by Collegiate Baseball, becoming the fifth Pac-10 coach to receive the award.

Casey, who earns his first National Coach of the Year honor by the newspaper, led the Beavers to its first national championship with a 3-2 win over North Carolina at the College World Series. The victory concluded a remarkable run for the Beavers, who lost their first game in Omaha but reached the championship with four straight wins. After losing Game 1 to North Carolina, Oregon State pulled out two victories.

Oregon State (50-16) became the first team in 60 years of the CWS to lose twice in Omaha and win the national title. Oregon State also is the first truly Northern-based school to win the series since Ohio State in 1966.

Previous Collegiate Baseball National Coaches of The Year:
(Pac-10 Coaches in Bold)
2006:	Pat Casey, Oregon State2005: 	Augie Garrido, Texas2004: 	George Horton, Cal State Fullerton2003: 	Wayne Graham, Rice2002: 	Augie Garrido, Texas2001: 	Jim Morris, Miami2000: 	Skip Bertman, LSU1999: 	Jim Morris, Miami1998: 	Mike Gillespie, USC1997: 	Skip Bertman, LSU	Mike Batesole, Cal State Northridge1996: 	Skip Bertman, LSU,1995: 	Augie Garrido, Cal State Fullerton1994: 	Larry Cochell, Oklahoma	Andy Lopez, Florida1993: 	Skip Bertman, LSU1992: 	Andy Lopez, Pepperdine1991: 	Skip Bertman, LSU1990: 	Steve Webber, Georgia1989: 	Dave Snow, LSU1988: 	Larry Cochell, Cal State Fullerton1987: 	Mark Marquess, Stanford1986: 	Jerry Kindall, Arizona1985: 	Ron Fraser, Miami1984: 	Augie Garrido, Cal State Fullerton1983: 	Cliff Gustafson, Texas1982: 	Ron Fraser, Miami1981: 	Jim Brock, Arizona State1980: 	Jerry Kindall, Arizona 
Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder