Appel Notches Double-Double as USA Wins Opener

June 29, 2006

Colorado Springs, Colo. - The USA U18 Women's National Team (1-0) got out to a 36-12 lead against Paraguay (0-1) and never looked back, winning their opening game 121-56 at the 2006 FIBA Americas U18 Championship For Women at the U.S. Olympic Training Center in Colorado Springs, Colo., on Wednesday night.

Incoming Stanford freshman Jayne Appel posted a double-double in just 15 minutes off the bench with 11 points and 11 rebounds.

The U.S. was too big for Paraguay on the inside and the statistics reflect that. The team set a USA Women's U18 tournament record for total rebounds with 79, shattering the previous record of 65 the U.S. had set against Puerto Rico in 2004.

'Our energy level and effort was great tonight,' said USA and DePaul head coach Doug Bruno. 'You can't control the level of the competition, you can only control our energy and effort, and I thought our players came out with a high energy level and a high degree of effort.'

Play continues for the USA Friday as it will face Brazil at the USOTC at 6:00 p.m. mountain daylight time. Brazil will have its first game Thursday when it goes up against Paraguay. Brazil will provide a tougher test for the U.S. with their size and physical play.

Originally known as the FIBA Americas Junior World Championship Qualifier, the tournament has been held every four years since 1988. FIBA recently changed its calendar, and the event will now be conducted every other year. The name of the event has also recently been changed to reflect the age limit for eligible athletes. USA women's teams boast of a remarkable 24-2 overall record at this event and have won gold in 1988, 2000 and 2004, while capturing silver medals in 1992 and 1996.

Some of the top players who have represented the United States in the past U18 tournaments include Alana Beard (2000); Tamika Catchings (1996); Marissa Coleman (2004); Stacey Ford (1998); Sonja Henning (1988); Niesa Johnson (1992); Rebecca Lobo (1992); Candace Parker (2004); Courtney Paris (2004); Cappie Pondexter (2000); Nicole Powell (2000); Lynn Pride (1996); Diana Taurasi (2000); Candice Wiggins (2004), and Tiffany Woosley (1992).

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder