Cal to Host 2009 NCAA Regional, 2010 NCAA 1st and 2nd Round

July 6, 2006

BERKELEY, Calif. - Building on the momentum from last season's accomplishments, the University of California has been selected as a regional host for the 2009 NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Championship and as a first- and second-round host for the 2010 event.

'Bidding to host NCAA games is indicative of the support and commitment (Athletic Director) Sandy Barbour has shown towards building an elite women's basketball team at Cal,' said Golden Bear head coach Joanne Boyle. 'We're excited to serve as host in consecutive years, as it will bring added exposure to our program and will allow our fans to experience the excitement of the postseason in Berkeley.'

Competition will take place at Haas Pavilion in Berkeley in 2009 and 2010, marking the first time the venue has been chosen for the NCAA women's or men's basketball tournament. Haas Pavilion opened in the fall of 1999.

In 1992, Harmon Gym - the Bears' previous home before Haas Pavilion - was the site of an NCAA first-round women's match-up between Cal and Santa Clara. Cal was the host of the 1998 NCAA women's regional at the Oakland Arena.

On the men's side, Cal was picked as a regional host in 1990 and 1995 at the Oakland Arena.

Joining Cal as regional hosts in 2009 are the Big 12 Conference (Ford Center in Oklahoma City, Okla.), North Carolina State (RBC Center in Raleigh, N.C.) and the Metro Atlantic Conference and Rider (Sovereign Bank Arena in Trenton, N.J.).

Games will be staged Saturday, March 28, and Monday, March 30, or Sunday, March 29, and Tuesday, March 31, 2009.

In 2010, Cal was one of eight locations picked as first- and second-round hosts. The complete list includes Arizona State (Wells Fargo Arena, Tempe, Ariz.), Texas (Frank Erwin Special Events Center, Austin, Texas), Tennessee (Thompson-Boling Arena, Knoxville, Tenn.), Minnesota (Williams Arena, Minneapolis, Minn.), Old Dominion (Constant Convocation Center, Norfolk, Va.), Notre Dame (Joyce Center, Notre Dame, Ind.) and the Metro Atlantic Conference and Rider (Sovereign Bank Arena, Trenton, N.J.).

Games will be played Saturday, March 20, and Monday, March 22, or Sunday, March 21, and Tuesday, March 23, 2010.

Cal finished last season with its first winning record in 13 seasons at 18-12 and earned the program's first NCAA Tournament berth since 1993. The Bears earned the No. 10 seed in the Albuquerque Regional, falling to seventh-seeded St. John's, 78-68, in the opening round in University Park, Pa. Cal placed sixth in the Pac-10 at 10-8 with its first winning conference mark in 13 years.

In 2005-06, Cal featured four local freshmen in their starting lineup - All-Pac-10 selection Devanei Hampton (Oakland), Pac-10 Freshman of the Year Alexis Gray-Lawson (Oakland), Pac-10 All-Freshman pick Ashley Walker (Modesto) and honorable mention Pac-10 All-Freshman honoree Jené Morris (San Francisco). Those four, along with Shantrell Sneed (Fairfield), will be seniors in 2008-09.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder