Three Straight!

July 6, 2006

Arizona State learned Thursday it will be the university host to a 2009 NCAA men's basketball regional at Cardinal Stadium in Glendale after also landing NCAA women's basketball first- and second-round action in 2010 at Wells Fargo Arena in Tempe.

Combined with Arizona State hosting the 2008 men's regional at U.S. Airways Center in downtown Phoenix, the staff at Arizona State will be the university host for March Madness for three straight years at three different venues.

'We are excited to be such a big part of March Madness and are thrilled to be able to host three great events at three great locations,' says Vice President of Athletics Lisa Love. 'This is a great opportunity not only for our University, but the whole metropolitan area.'

Arizona State began hosting NCAA men's basketball tournament action in 1975 at the University Activity Center (now Wells Fargo Arena) in Tempe. It hosted first-round action in 1975, 1976 and 1978. It then hosted first- and second-round action in 1980, 1992 and 1996.

Phoenix's U.S. Airways Center (formerly America West Arena) hosted men's regional action in 1999 and 2004.

Cardinal Stadium will host the regional March 26-28, 2009. In the men's tournament, cities hosting games on the first weekend of the 2009 tournament include Philadelphia, Pa.; Miami, Fla.; Greensboro, N.C.; Minneapolis, Minn.; Kansas City, Mo.; Spokane, Wash.; and Portland, Ore. The three regionals besides Glendale will take place in Boston, Mass.; Memphis, Tenn.; and Indianapolis, Ind. Detroit will host the 2009 Final Four.

A total of 56 cities submitted bids for 22 available men's tournament positions in 2009 and 2010; two (Indianapolis in 2009 and Houston in 2010) were pre-determined because cities host a regional the year prior to hosting a Final Four.

Wells Fargo Arena, which hosts eight-team first- and second-round women's action in 2010, also hosted a four-team women's basketball first- and second-round play in 2004 and regional action in 2005. Tempe will host games either Saturday, March 20, and Monday, March 22 or Sunday, March 21 and Tuesday, March 23, 2010.

The other first- and second-rounds of the 2010 women's championship will be played in Austin, Texas; Berkeley, Calif.; Knoxville, Tenn.; Minneapolis, Minn.; Norfolk, Va.; Notre Dame, Ind.; and Trenton, N.J. The four regional sites are Dayton, Ohio; Kansas City, Mo.; Memphis, Tenn.; and Sacramento, Calif.

San Antonio will host the 2010 Women's Final Four.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder