Nine Tracksters Honored for Success in the Classroom

July 14, 2006

Six women and three men have been named to the U.S. Track and Field/Cross Country Association's All-Academic team after strong performances in the classroom and on the track during the 2006 season.

UCLA's honorees include - Chris Bencomo, Erik Emilsson, Tracy Session, Leslie Barrie, Ashley Caldwell, Jacqueline Nguyen, Jenna Timinsky, Rhonda Watkins and Elizabeth Woepse.

In order to be named to the All-Academic Team, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.25 or higher gpa and posted a qualifying mark for an NCAA meet such as NCAA Indoor/Outdoor Championships or the regional qualifying meet.

Stanford was named the women's indoor team of the year, while South Carolina took home outdoor honors. South Carolina's Sholonda Soloman was honored as the indoor Scholar Athlete of the Year, and ASU's Victoria Jackson was the outdoor Scholar Athlete of the Year.

On the men's side, Arkansas took home both the indoor and outdoor All-Academic Team honors. Arkansas' Jaanus Uudmae was named the indoor Scholar Athlete of the Year, while Florida State's Garrett Johnson earned outdoor Scholar Athlete of the Year accolades.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder