USTFCCCA Announces NCAA Division I Men's And Women's All-Academic Teams

July 14, 2006

Metairie, LA - The U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) has announced the 2006 Division I Men's and Women's All-Academic Track and Field Teams. Stanford boasted the most athletes named to the women's team with 10 honors, as well as 10 athletes selected to the men's All-Academic squad.

The USTFCCCA honors individuals and teams for their academic and athletic accomplishments during the indoor and outdoor track seasons. Twenty-three Division I men's teams and seventy-five Division I women's teams had cumulative grade-point averages of 3.0 or higher.

With a cumulative 3.231 grade-point average, Stanford is the 2006 Division I Women's All-Academic Team of the Year for the indoor season. The Cardinal finished second at the NCAA Division I Indoor Track and Field Championships in Fayetteville, Ark.

South Carolina's 3.105 GPA earned the Gamecocks the 2006 Division I Women's All-Academic Team of the Year for the outdoor season. South Carolina's women finished third at the NCAA Outdoor Track and Field Championships in Sacramento.

On the men's side, Arkansas is the 2006 Division I USTFCCCA Men's All-Academic Team of the Year for both the indoor and outdoor seasons. The Razorbacks, who won the 2006 NCAA Division I men's indoor title and finished fifth in the NCAA outdoor championships, had a team GPA of 3.03.

The selection of the outstanding team was based on a combination of athletic and academic achievement.

To qualify for the USTFCCCA All-Academic Track and Field Team, an athlete must have a cumulative GPA of 3.25 or higher and must have met the NCAA Division I regional or national qualifying standard in his or her event.

Stanford had the most women on the All-Academic Team with 10 selections, while the Stanford men had 10 athletes named to the team behind leader BYU with 12 selections.

Stanford athletes named to the 2006 Division I USTFCCCA Men's and Women's All-Academic Teams:

Neftalem Araia
Russell Brown
Joaquin Chapa
Michael Garcia
Garrett Heath
Graeme Hoste
Josh Hustedt
Tunji Munabi
Daniel Schaerer
Rolf Steier
Jakki Bailey
Katy Elsbury
Alicia Follmar
Nashonme Johnson
Arianna Lambie
Anna McFarlane
Teresa McWalters
Lauren Stewart
Amanda Trotter
Katy Trotter

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder