Canizares, Lemke And Telliard Earn Scholar Recognition

July 16, 2006

The Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) has named three Sun Devil men's golfers Cleveland Golf All-America Scholars for the 2005-06 season. It marked the first time in history three Sun Devils earned the honor in the same season.

Graduated senior Alejandro Canizares, Niklas Lemke (senior in 2006-07) and Phil Telliard (redshirt junior in 2006-07) all earned the honor, as juniors and seniors are eligible and must have a 3.2 cumulative grade-point average and under a 76.0 stroke average.

Canizares also was named a first-team ESPN The Magazine Academic At-Large All-American for the second straight season. The 16-person men's squad was selected by Sports Information Directors across the nation from the sports of water polo, volleyball, gymnastics, golf, rifle, tennis, ice hockey, swimming and diving, fencing, wrestling, lacrosse and skiing. He finished tied for sixth at the 2006 NCAA Championships and finished his career with a 71.46 stroke average in 49 events. He won six career tournaments, including the 2003 NCAA title, and had 22 top-10 finishes.

This past season he posted a 71.22 stroke average, seventh-best in ASU history, and had five top-five appearances and earned Co-Pac-10 Player of the Year honors, the first players to earn league Player of the Year honors in back-to-back seasons since Stanford's Tiger Woods in 1995-96. He graduated from ASU in May with a 3.87 grade point average.

Lemke also earned his second Ping All-America honor after notching honorable mention in 2005. He posted a 71.68 stroke average this year in 13 events including five top-10 finishes and four top-five finishes. He has a 72.70 stroke average 36 career events through three seasons. He was 18-under par in his final five tournaments.

Telliard garnered Pac-10 second-team All-Academic honors this past season The communications major holds a 3.34 GPA. Telliard was named a Pac-10 honorable mention All-Academic selection in 2005. He posted a 75.52 stroke average in seven events on the year and was in the lineup in each of the final five events of the year.

2005-06 Division I Cleveland Golf All-America ScholarsMark Anderson, New MexicoMichael Barbosa, Georgia TechBryan Carwell Barnett, MercerNick Becker, BYUBrett Bergeron, Southeastern LouisianaBryan Bigley, SienaClay Bingham, Weber StateLouie Bishop, UC-DavisBrandon Boomsba, Ball StateWallace Booth, Augusta StateAlan Borowsky, LehighChris Bouchard, EvansvilleMarc Bourgeois, Kent StateMatthew Busa, GeorgetownAlejandro Canizares, Arizona StateBrian Carroll, George WashingtonRoberto Castro, Georgia TechKevin Chen, Washington StateGrant Christman, OhioAlex Coe, PepperdineMitch Cohlmia, TulsaWayne Denger, Ball StateDaniel Dennis, Southern MississippiTim Dillon, DavidsonJesse Dixon, PrincetonAndrew Dresser, Texas TechMatthew Fry, Indiana-Fort WayneAndrew Gallo, George WashingtonJason Gerken, PrincetonAnthony G. Gillick, Jr., DenverMichael Gregory, MercerZachary Guthrie, Western IllinoisKane Hanson, DrakeJames Harris, San DiegoTroy E. Hawkins, Western KentuckyChris Heintz, UCLAC.D. Hockersmith, Ball StateWalter Edward Homan, SMUKyle Hosick, IllinoisShawn Jasper, MissouriEirik Johansen, South CarolinaGarrett Jones, WisconsinJeremy Keller, Long Beach StateJohn Kelly, MissouriKevin Kisner, GeorgiaAlex Knoll, DavidsonRussell Knox, JacksonvillePatrick Wilkes-Krier, Ball StateJeffrey Krogsgard, Birmingham-SouthernPete Krsnich, KansasParker LaBarge, RiceKevin Larsen, Georgia TechNiklas Lemke, Arizona StateHugo Leon, Southeastern LouisianaTyler Leon, Oklahoma StateColby Lindsay, UTEPJames Paul Logeman, Long Beach StateJordan Madison, Washington StateKorey Mahoney, Eastern MichiganMarc Matalavage, North Carolina-WilmingtonMark Alexander Matza, YaleSteve Mayo, DavidsonMatthew Mincer, CharlotteMark N. Modglin, Fresno StateJoshua Oller, Mississippi StateThomas Petersson, PacificNate Pettitt, Colorado StateGregory Pieczynski, Penn StateBrandan Price, MercerBrian Prouty, ArizonaLouis Rittberger, ElonZack Robinson, Oklahoma StateAndrew Ross, Arkansas StateEthan Roush, Northern IllinoisJoe Ryon, UC-Santa BarbaraMatt Savage, StanfordJohn Sawin, PrincetonNick Schenk, Northern IllinoisJonathan Shaw, Georgia SouthernRaymond J. Sheedy, IV, CharlotteRyan Siekmann, OhioDan Silva, WyomingAndy Skillman, Ball StateStefan Standlund, Jr., Bethune-CookmanWalter Silas Sutton, MercerPhillip Telliard, Arizona StateChase Thomas, BaylorAndrew Tiedt, IowaBrendon Todd, GeorgiaLuke Trammell, KansasCarl Wakely, Virginia TechJustin Wenger, IndianaDerrick Whiting, Colorado StateChris Wilson, NorthwesternMichael Wilson, CaliforniaJeff Wolniewicz, Binghamton

Canizares also joined a list of more than 40 golfers who have graduated under Lein since he became the coach in summer of 1992.

Larry Barber B.S., Justice Studies (1995)
Richard Barber B.S., Aero Mgmt Tech (Airway SC Mgmt) (1997)
Alejandro Canizares B.I.S., Landscape Architecture/Sociology (2006)
Kendall Critchfield B.A., Communications (2005)
Todd Demsey B.A., Psychology (1995)
Mike Derminio B.I.S., Business & History (2004)
Tyler Erickson B.A., Art (Studio Art) (2002)
Chris Ferguson B.A., History (1996)
Jack Flam B.I.S., Sociology & History (2004)
Sam Flam B.S., Finance (1998)
Bryan Gilder B.I.S., Communication & Sociology (1998)
Jim Granat B.S., Finance (1994)
Chris Hanell B.S., Marketing (1997)
Jason Hause B.S., Finance (2000)
Christian Hills B.S., Recreaction & Tourism Mgmt (1996)
Brett Johnson B.S., Marketing & Supply Chain Mgmt (2004)
Scott Johnson B.S., Recreaction (Tourism) (1997)
D.J. Lewin B.A., Broadcasting (1999)
Rob Mangini B.A., Psychology (1993)
Nick Manthey B.S., Finance & Supply Chain Mgmt (2004)
Calvin Matthews B.S., Finance (1998)
Kurt Mayr B.S., Kinesiology (2003)
Shane McMenamy B.A., Sociology (2003)
Pat Moore B.S., Marketing (2005)
Jesse Mueller B.S., Marketing (2005)
Jakob Myrgren B.S., Exercise Science/Physical Ed. (1999)
Brian Nosler B.A., Geography (2002)
Chris O'Connor B.S., Management (2001)
Greg Padilla B.S., Finance (1999)
Oscar Palacio B.S., Finance (1997)
Jin Park B.A., Political Science (2001)
Jeff Quinney B.S., Finance (2002)
Jonas Runnquist B.A., Communications (2000)
Keith Sbarbaro B.A., Psychology (1993)
Charly Simon B.A., Psychology (2006)
Mike Skillern B.S., Marketing (2005)
Joey Snyder B.S., Management (1996)
Brady Stockton B.I.S., Sociology & Recreation (2003)
Cade Stone B.S., Marketing (1994)
Chris Stutts B.A., Communications (1995)
Ben Weir B.A., Communications (1993)
Ryan Whitaker B.A., Sociology (2001)
Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder