Women's Hoops Announces 2006-07 Schedule

July 17, 2006

SEATTLE -- Husky head coach June Daugherty announced the 2006-07 schedule for the Washington women's basketball team Monday, a slate that features nine opponents that appeared in the 2006 NCAA Tournament including seven squads that advanced to the second round or better.

Road games at Purdue, which advanced as far as the NCAA Sweet 16 last year, and Ohio State, ranked No. 2 in the final 2006 AP poll, highlight a formidable preseason slate that also includes fellow 2006 Tourney participants Texas A&M and Florida State. With a conference record six teams getting a nod to the NCAA Tournament last season, the Pac-10 schedule will be that much more challenging. Stanford (Elite Eight), USC (second round), UCLA (second round), Arizona State (second round) and California (first round) are also UW opponents that participated in the Big Dance last year.

Husky fans' first chance to see the 2006-07 squad in action will be Wednesday, Nov. 1, when UW takes on the University of Regina in an exhibition contest at 7 p.m. at Bank of America Arena. Following a second exhibition - versus the Australian Institute of Sport, Sunday, Nov. 5, at 1 p.m. - Washington will open the season with three straight road games at Marquette (Nov. 14), Purdue (Nov. 17) and Eastern Washington (Nov. 21).

UW will make its official home debut hosting the 20th annual Husky Classic during Thanksgiving weekend, Saturday, Nov. 25, through Sunday, Nov. 26. Joining Washington in the four-team field will be Saint Louis, Miami (Ohio) and Northern Iowa. Matchups and times are still yet to be determined.

From there, the Huskies will hit the road again and travel to Ohio for contests with Kent State (Nov. 30) and Ohio State (Dec. 3). Daugherty, along with her husband associate head coach Mike Daugherty, will be returning to their alma mater where both played basketball for the Buckeyes. UW then will return home to host four straight games with Texas A&M (Dec. 6), Nevada-Reno (Dec. 10), Gonzaga (Dec. 15) and Florida State (Dec. 17).

The Pac-10 schedule tips off before the holidays, with UW making its conference debut on the road at Oregon (Dec. 21) and Oregon State (Dec. 23) before the Huskies' first Pac-10 home games versus USC (Dec. 28) and UCLA (Dec. 30). The Pac-10 Tournament will be held March 2-5 at the HP Pavilion in San Jose, Calif.

Washington returns all five starters and 11 letterwinners from the 2006 team that posted a 19-11 record and advanced as far as the second round of the NCAA Tournament.

Season tickets are available now by calling the Husky Ticket Office at 206-543-2200. Check back with GoHuskies.com in the fall for more information regarding single-game ticket sales.

2006-07 WASHINGTON WOMEN'S BASKETBALL SCHEDULE
(Times/dates subject to change)
Day, Date, Opponent, Location, Time
Wednesday, Nov. 1, University of Regina (exhibition), Bank of America Arena, 7 p.m.
Sunday, Nov. 5, Australian Institute of Sport (exhibition), 1 p.m.
Tuesday, Nov. 14, Marquette, Milwaukee, Wisc., tba
Friday, Nov. 17, Purdue, West Lafayette, Ind., tba
Tuesday, Nov. 21, Eastern Washington, Cheney, Wash., tba
Sat.-Sun., Nov. 25-26, Husky Classic, Bank of America Arena, tba
Thursday, Nov. 30, Kent State, Kent, Ohio, tba
Sunday, Dec. 3, Ohio State, Columbus, Ohio, tba
Wednesday, Dec. 6, Texas A&M, Bank of America Arena, 7 p.m.
Sunday, Dec. 10, Nevada-Reno, Bank of America Arena, 1 p.m.
Friday, Dec. 15, Gonzaga, Bank of America Arena, 7 p.m.
Sunday, Dec. 17, Florida State, Bank of America Arena, 1 p.m.
Thursday, Dec. 21, Oregon, Eugene, Ore., tba*
Saturday, Dec. 23, Oregon State, Corvallis, Ore., tba*
Thursday, Dec. 28, USC, Bank of America Arena, 7 p.m.*
Saturday, Dec. 30, UCLA, Bank of America Arena, 1 p.m.*
Thursday, Jan. 4, Arizona, Tucson, Ariz., tba*
Saturday, Jan. 6, Arizona State, Tempe, Ariz., tba*
Thursday, Jan. 11, Stanford, Bank of America Arena, 7 p.m.*
Saturday, Jan. 13, California, Bank of America Arena, 1 p.m.*
Saturday, Jan. 20, Washington State, Bank of America Arena, 1 p.m.*
Thursday, Jan. 25, UCLA, Westwood, Calif., tba*
Saturday, Jan. 27, USC, Los Angeles, Calif., tba*
Thursday, Feb. 1, Arizona State, Bank of America Arena, 7 p.m.*
Saturday, Feb. 3, Arizona, Bank of America Arena, 1 p.m.*
Thursday, Feb. 8, California, Berkeley, Calif., tba*
Saturday, Feb. 10, Stanford, Palo Alto, Calif., tba*
Saturday, Feb. 17, Washington State, Pullman, Wash., tba*
Thursday, Feb. 22, Oregon State, Bank of America Arena, 7 p.m.*
Saturday, Feb. 24, Oregon, Bank of America Arena, 1 p.m.*
March 2-5 - Pac-10 Tournament
March 17-20 - NCAA 1st and 2nd Rounds
March 24-27 - NCAA Regionals
April 1 & 3 - NCAA Final Four

* - denotes Pac-10 conference game

Categories:
Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Unable to get Pac-12 Network?
Contact your provider ▶
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder
Close