Cougar Men's Basketball Schedule Announced

Aug. 9, 2006

Click here to view full schedule in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

PULLMAN, Wash. - The Washington State men's basketball team will play 14 of its 30 regular season games during the 2006-07 season against schools that participated in 2006 postseason play, as announced by Cougar Head Coach Tony Bennett, Wednesday.

WSU will play 16 'home' games, including 14 in Pullman, one at the Spokane Arena (Nov. 25 vs. Boise State) and one at Seattle's KeyArena (Dec. 21 vs. San Diego State).

The Cougars open the season at a tournament hosted by Wisconsin-Milwaukee (Nov. 10-12). WSU will face Radford, UAB and Wisconsin-Milwaukee.

'I'm excited to start my coaching career where I began my playing career,' said Bennett, who starred in the Dairy State as a prep and went on to attend Wisconsin-Green Bay.

WSU will host Gonzaga (Dec. 5) giving the Cougars four nonconference opponents (San Diego State, UAB and Wisconsin-Milwaukee) that participated in the 2006 NCAA Tournament. It marks the first time in school history the Cougars will play four games against NCAA teams from the previous season before Pac-10 play begins.

'We're pleased to have another high quality schedule,' Bennett said. 'It has been part of the plan here over the last three years to play a schedule that will prepare us for conference play and to have quality home games for our fans.

The remainder of the Cougars' nonconference schedule includes Pullman games against Texas-San Antonio (Nov. 17), Idaho State (Nov. 21), Portland (Nov. 29) and Cal State Northridge (Dec. 16) as well as road trips to Utah (Dec. 2) and Idaho (Dec. 9).

Other 2006 NCAA Tournament teams on this season's schedule include UCLA (away, Dec. 28/home, March 3), Arizona (home, Jan. 6/away, Feb. 1), California (away, Jan. 11/home, Feb. 10) and Washington (home, Jan. 20/away, Feb. 14). WSU will also play Stanford, which took part in the 2006 NIT, Jan. 13 at Stanford and Feb. 8 in Pullman.

The remainder of the schedule includes USC (away, Dec. 30/home, March 1), Arizona State (home, Jan. 4/away, Feb. 3), Oregon State (home, Jan. 25/away, Feb. 24) and Oregon (home, Jan. 27/away, Feb. 22).

The Pacific-10 Tournament takes place at Staples Center in Los Angeles, March 7-10.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder