Adams, Henderson, Zizzo Selected To M.A.C. Hermann Trophy Watch Lists

Aug. 17, 2006

Two players from the UCLA women's soccer team and one from the UCLA men's soccer team have been named to the 2006 M.A.C. Hermann Trophy Watch List. Junior forward Danesha Adams (Shaker Heights, Ohio) and junior goalkeeper Valerie Henderson (Orinda, Calif.) have been selected to the women's watch list, and sophomore midfielder Sal Zizzo (San Diego, Calif.) has been named to the men's watch list. The 25-person lists were compiled by a panel of coaches from the National soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA).

Adams, a member of the U.S. Under-20 National Team that is currently playing at the Nordic Cup, is a 2005 All-American and two-time College Cup All-Tournament selection. Last season, she led the Pac-10 in scoring with 46 points on 21 goals and four assists. She scored a NCAA record four goals in the NCAA Quarterfinals against Virginia and set a UCLA record with nine game-winning goals in 2005.

Henderson, another U-20 National Team member playing at the Nordic Cup, also earned All-America honors in 2005 after posting 10 shutouts, five in the NCAA Tournament alone. She ended the season with a 20-2-2 mark and a 0.53 goals against average. In her freshman season, she started all 25 matches and recorded a Pac-10 best 12 shutouts. She was named to the College Cup All-Tournament team that season after surrendering just one goal (a penalty kick in the championship game) in NCAA Tournament play.

Zizzo is a member of the U.S. Under-20 National Team that advanced to the finals of the 2006 Milk Cup in August. Last season, he earned Pac-10 Freshman of the Year honors after leading all conference rookies with five assists and seven points. Zizzo, who is one of just three underclassmen on the men's watch list, earned All-Freshman national honors and second-team All-Pac-10 acclaim in 2005.

The winner of the M.A.C.'s Hermann Trophy will be determined in voting by NSCAA Division I member coaches. A list of 15 semifinalists will be announced in early November, with three finalists announced in late November. They will be invited to St. Louis on Saturday, Dec. 2, for the announcement of the winner at a press conference to be held in conjunction with the Men's College Cup. Both the men's and women's winners will be presented the prestigious crystal soccer ball trophy at a banquet later that evening.

2006 M.A.C. Hermann Trophy Watch List - Women
Player, Position, Class, School
Danesha Adams, M, Jr., UCLA
Melanie Booth, D, Sr., Florida
Laura Boyer, K, Jr., Marquette
Jen Buczkowski, M, Sr., Notre Dame
Ali Christoph, M, Sr., Tennessee
Niki Cross, F, Sr., Connecticut
Marian Dalmy, D, Sr., Santa Clara
Holly Gault, D, Sr., Kansas
Laura Georges, D, Sr., Boston College
Tyler Griffin, K, Sr., Vanderbilt
Kerri Hanks, F, So., Notre Dame
Valerie Henderson, K, Jr., UCLA
Christina Huang, D, Sr., Yale
Ali Krieger, M, Sr., Penn State
Sel Kuralay, F, Jr., Florida State
Stephanie Lopez, D, Jr., Portland
Heather O'Reilly, F, Sr., North Carolina
Ashlee Pistorius, F, Jr., Texas A&M
Megan Rapinoe, M, So., Portland
Amy Rodriguez, F, So., Southern California
Becky Sauerbrunn, M, Jr., Virginia
Brittany Timko, F, Sr., Nebraska
India Trotter, M, Sr., Florida State
Sue Weber, D, Jr., Hofstra
Angie Woznuk, M, Jr., Portland

2006 M.A.C. Hermann Trophy Watch List - Men
Player, Position, Class, School
Ryan Anderson, F, Jr., Missouri State
Andrew Boyens, D, Sr., New Mexico
Byron Dacy, F, So., Creighton
Gregory Dalby, M, Sr., Notre Dame
Charlie Davies, F, Jr., Boston College
John DiRaimondo, M, Sr., Saint Louis
Willy Guadarrama, F, Jr., Campbell
Tally Hall, K, Jr., San Diego State
Michael Harrington, D, Sr., North Carolina
Rodrigo Hidalgo, F, Jr., South Florida
Justin Hughes, K, Sr., North Carolina
Andy Iro, D, Jr., UC-Santa Barbara
Julius James, D, Jr., Connecticut
Scott Jones, M, Sr., UNC-Greensboro
Stephen King, M, Jr., Maryland
Phil Marfuggi, K, Sr., Clemson
Jay Needham, D, Sr., SMU
Josh Tudela, M, Sr., Indiana
Simon Omekanda, F, Sr., Penn State
Randi Patterson, F, Sr., UNC-Greensboro
Yannick Reyering , F, So., Virginia
Dane Richards, F, Sr., Clemson
Sinisa Ubiparipovic, F, Sr., Akron
Michael Videira, M, Jr., Duke
Sal Zizzo, M, So., UCLA

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
  • Pac-12 Sports Report: NBA Draft Special
    TOMORROW | 2:00pm PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder