Rob Grube Wins Illinois State Amateur Championship

Aug. 23, 2006

LaGrange, Ill. - At 10-under par, an 11-shot victory, Stanford golfer Rob Grube made history with his win at the 76th Illinois State Amateur Championship at Edgewood Valley Country Club in LaGrange.

Grube's 11-stroke win is the largest margin of victory in the Illinois State Amateur since the event went to stroke play in 1963. Rich Dukelow last won by 9-shots in the 2001 State Am at Aldeen Golf Club.

Grube's 10-under par, 274 finish, is just 3-shots shy of Jerry Haas' 1982 Illinois State Am record lowest winning score under par, 13-under.

Haas, playing in the 2006 PGA Championship, won the State Am at Mt. Hawley Country Club in Peoria (par 288). Today, Haas played with brother, Jay in the PGA at Medinah.

Grube, the 2006 Pac-10 Co-Player of the Year who plays for Stanford, posted a 4-under par, 67 in the final round. He was the only player to finish the championship under par.

Two-time State Am champ Todd Mitchell (2002, 2003) of Bloomington finished in second place at 1-over par, 285. Through 54 holes, Grube had a 7-shot lead ahead of Mitchell who was even-par, 213 through three rounds. Mitchell posted even par, 71 in the final two rounds today.

Finishing in third place was Brad Benjamin (Rockford) at 2-over, 286. In the Western Junior earlier this month, Benjamin, who plays at University of Memphis tied for 15th place. Anthony Inburgia (Effingham) took fourth place with a 5-over, 289.

During Grube's first State Am experience in 2004 at Stone Creek Golf Club in Urbana, he finished second after a playoff with T.C. Ford. The three-hole total score playoff ended with Ford, 10 and Grube, 11.

Grube's name now appears on the State Am trophy along with his coach, Gary Pinns (1977, Rockford Country Club). Grube will be a junior a Stanford. As a sophomore, he won individual honors at the 2006 Western Intercollegiate and in his freshman year, finished first at the NCAA West Region Championship.

An accomplished player, Grube's spoils as State Am champ may put him on the list of past champs that have gone on to play professionally. Those players include Roy Biancalana (1983), Erik Ciotti (1997), Rich Dukelow (2001), Jim Jamieson (1967), Gary Hallberg (1978, 1979), Mark Hensby (1994), David Ogrin (1980), D.A. Points (1995, 1998, 1999) and Robert Zender (1967, 1970, 1971).

This year's top 15 players and ties receive exemptions into the 2007 Illinois State Amateur at Ironhorse Golf Club in Tuscola. Cantigny Golf in Wheaton will host the 2008 State Am.

For video interviews, results and more information visit the CDGA's official Web site,

Chicago District Golf Association
The Chicago District Golf Association (CDGA) is a non-profit association of member clubs and individual golfers in Illinois and parts of Indiana, Wisconsin and Michigan. With nearly 100,000 member golfers at 365 member clubs, the CDGA is one of the largest and oldest golf associations in the United States. The CDGA's Sunshine Through Golf Foundation brings the benefits and resources of the game of golf into the lives of beginners, juniors, individuals with disabilities, minorities and the economically disadvantaged throughout the District.

courtesy of the Chicago District Golf Association

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder