Sixteen-Team CBE Classic Field Set

Sept. 19, 2006

Princeton, NJ - Duke, Marquette, Stanford and Texas Tech will be the four host schools in the College Basketball Experience (CBE) Classic. Air Force, Akron, Arkansas-Little Rock, Columbia, Detroit, Gardner-Webb, Georgia Southern, Idaho State, Long Beach State, Maine, UC Davis, and San Jose State will join them to complete the field.

In the 2005 event (formally known as the Guardians Classic) the Texas Longhorns defeated the Iowa Hawkeyes 68-59 in the championship game.

The Regional Rounds of the tournament will be played November 12th-15th. The winner of each Regional Round will compete for the Championship at Municipal Auditorium in Kansas City, Missouri, on November 20th and 21st. Outlined below are the dates, locations and match-ups for the tournament.


Durham Regional Rounds
November 12th & 13th
Cameron Indoor Stadium -- Durham, N.C.
Georgia Southern vs. UC-Davis
Duke vs. Columbia

Milwaukee Regional Rounds
November 13th & 14th
Bradley Center -- Milwaukee, Wisc.
Detroit vs. Maine
Marquette vs. Idaho St.

Palo Alto Regional Rounds
November 14th & 15th
Maples Pavilion -- Palo Alto, Calif.
Air Force vs. Long Beach St.
Stanford vs. San Jose St.

Lubbock Regional Rounds
November 13th & 14th
United Spirit Arena -- Lubbock, Texas
Arkansas-Little Rock vs. Akron
Texas Tech vs. Gardner-Webb


Semifinal Doubleheader
November 20th
Municipal Auditorium -- Kansas City, Mo.
Durham Winner vs. Palo Alto Winner
Milwaukee Winner vs. Lubbock Winner

Championship Doubleheader
November 21st
Municipal Auditorium -- Kansas City, Mo
Consolation Game
Championship Game

The College Basketball Experience Classic was created to promote the NABC,s ,,College Basketball Experience �/�� and the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame, currently being developed within the new Sprint Center Arena located in downtown Kansas City. The CBE Classic will fold into the College Basketball Experience Weekend, a three-day event celebrating the best of men,s college basketball. The weekend kicks off Sunday, November 19th, 2006, when five of the greatest names in college basketball history - John Wooden, Oscar Robertson, Bill Russell, Dean Smith, Dr. James Naismith - headline the founding class to be inducted into the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame.

Ticket Information:
Tickets for the Championship Rounds of the CBE Classic are on sale now and can be purchased at the following locations:· The Official CBE Classic Website:
· Ticketmaster: (816)931-3330 or
· Municipal Auditorium Box Office
· VIP Ticket & Hospitality Packages: Leah Conley at (609)921-1300

For more information on Regional Round tickets please contact each host school's box office:
· Duke University: (877)375-DUKE or visit
· Marquette University: (414)276-4545 or visit
· Stanford University: (800)STANFORD or visit
· Texas Tech University: (888)GOBIG12 or visit

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder