Stanford Claims Ihlanfeldt Title

Oct. 11, 2006

Final Team Results in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Final Individual Results in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Sammamish, Wash- Stanford University dominated the second two rounds to win its fourth Edean Ihlanfeldt Invitational held at Sahalee Country Club. The 13th-ranked Cardinal took advantage of Mari Chun's final round 4-over 75 to defeat the 30th-ranked New Mexico Lobos by six strokes. Stanford won the 54-hole tournament with a 32-over score of 896, including a tournament-best 8-over 296 during Wednesday's final round.

Chun shot a tournament-low 68 to open the tournament, finishing with a 1-under 215. New Mexico's Jodi Ewart shot a 1-over 217 to take runner-up honors, while Arizona State's Jennifer Osborn used a third-round 68 to finish in third at 2-over 218.

Stanford also won the tournament title in 1990, 1994 and 1996. In each of those years, the Cardinal also claimed individual medalist honors, with Andrey Wooding winning in 1990, Mhairi McKay winning in 1994 and Andrea Baxter tying Washington's Dodie Mazzuca for medalist honors in 1996.

Stanford saw three of its players post top-12 finishes, including a sixth place finish for senior Jennifer Tangtiphaiboontana at 5-over 221. Lauren Todd carded a 226 for a 12th place finish, followed by Catherina Wang's 234 for a 31st-place tie. Ki-Shui Liao's 247 landed her in a tie for 61st to round out the Cardinal contingent.

Thanks to Ewart's hot play, New Mexico rallied for a second-place finish at 902. Osborn nearly led Arizona State to second place, as the Sun Devils wrapped up third place honors at 904.

Washington slipped back to seventh-place after shooting a 307 during the final round. The Huskies were led by senior Amber Prange and junior Kim Shin, who finished in a tie for 12th at 10-over 226. Prange's final-round 71 was the best single-round score of any Husky. UW's Amy Wang finished in a tie for 33rd at 19-over 235, while fellow senior Courtney McCracken finished in a tie for 56th at 28-over 244. Freshman Molly Aronsson shot a 31-over 247 for a tie for 61st, and Molly Boyle and Christina Yoon competed as individuals for the Huskies. Boyle recorded a 36-over 252, good for a tie for 69th, while Yoon's 24-over 240 landed her in a tie for 47th.

'We struggled, but we saw some good signs too,' said Washington head coach Mary Lou Mulflur. 'Amber Prange played really well after a tough second round, but overall I know she is going to be there for us. The most encouraging thing was seeing Kim Shin come around a little bit, and get her confidence back a little. If this golf course starts going the wrong way for you it is hard, because there are no breather holes out there and it can beat you up. They hung in there and it is only our second tournament of the year so we have a lot to learn, but they are a good group and we will get better.'

Washington plays at the Stanford Intercollegiate Oct. 20-22 in its next fall tournament.

Edean Ihlanfeldt Invitational
Sahalee Country Club
Sammamish, WA
Par 72, 6,130 yards

Final Results
Team Results

1.  Stanford         303-297-296-8962.  New Mexico       301-300-301-9023.  Arizona State    299-306-299-9044.  Pepperdine       302-307-303-9125.  USC              310-308-304-9226.  Arizona          301-313-310-9247.  Washington       305-313-307-9258.  Oregon           311-310-308-9299.  Brigham Young    305-312-316-93310. UNLV             318-311-312-94111. San Francisco    324-312-313-94912. California       317-320-313-95013. Washington State 312-320-322-95414. Long Beach State 313-321-322-95615. Oregon State     321-331-314-966

Individual Leaders

1.   Mari Chun, Stanford                   68-72-75-2152.   Jodi Ewart, New Mexico                71-75-71-2173.   Jennifer Osborn, Arizona State        77-73-68-2184.   Misun Cho, Pepperdine                 75-74-70-2195.   Py Bengtsson, New Mexico              72-75-73-2206.   Jennifer Tangtiphaiboontana, Stanford 76-72-73-2217.   Paola Moreno, USC                     76-71-75-2228.   Natasha Podmore, San Francisco        75-77-71-2239.   Rachel Newren, BYU                    75-75-74-224T10. Catalina Marin, USC                   76-73-76-225T10. Camilla Sola, Arizona State           73-75-77-225T12. Kimberly McCready, Oregon             77-77-72-226T12. Juliana Murcia, Arizona State         74-77-75-226T12. Amber Prange, Washington              74-81-71-226T12. Kim Shin, Washington                  77-74-75-226T12. Lauren Todd, Stanford                 78-76-72-226T17. Cathryn Bristow, Oregon               77-75-76-228T17. Amy Eneroth, Washington State         69-80-79-22819.  Mary Jacobs, Arizona                  73-78-78-22920.  Stephanie Gelleni, Pepperdine         75-76-79-230

Other Washington Scores

T33. Amy Wang           77-80-78-235T47. Christina Yoon*    76-84-80-240T56. Courtney McCracken 77-84-83-244T61. Molly Aronsson     82-78-87-247T69. Molly Boyle*       80-90-82-252

* Playing as individual

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder