WSU Second Varsity Eight Wins at Gonzaga

Oct. 21, 2006

SPOKANE, Wash. - The Washington State second varsity eight boat paced the competition at the Head of the Spokane regatta Saturday against Gonzaga.

The boat won the first flight with a time of 17:25, beating the Bulldog varsity eight crew by eight seconds. Also racing in the first flight for the Cougars were the third varsity eight with a fifth place finish, and the second and third novice eight boats with eighth and 10th place finishes, respectively.

In the second flight, Gonzaga swept the top three spots with the Bulldog varsity eight boat finishing first. WSU fourth varsity eight finished fourth with a time of 18:49, over a minute behind the first place crew, followed by the novice eight (19:46) and the varsity four (20:57).

The Cougars varsity eight races Sunday at the 42nd Head of the Charles in Boston. Last year, WSU placed 10th in the event.

WSU returns home next weekend to host Gonzaga Saturday, Oct. 28, in the Head of the Snake Regatta. The race will take place at Wawawai Landing at 10 a.m.

Washington State vs. GonzagaSpokane, Wash.October 21, 2006

First Flight1. WSU 2V8 17:25, 2. Gonzaga V8 17:33, 3.Gonzaga 2V8 18:02, 4. Gonzaga 3V8 18:02, 5. WSU 3V8 18:04, 6. Gonzaga (B) V4 19:59, 7. Gonzaga 3N8 21:01, 8. WSU 2N8 21:17, 9. Gonzaga (C) V4 21:41, 10. WSU 3N8 22:16.

Second Flight1. Gonzaga V8 17:41, 2. Gonzaga 2V8 18:10, 3. Gonzaga N8 18:32, 4. WSU 4V8 18:49, 5. WSU N8 19:46, 6. WSU (A) V4 20:57, 7. Gonzaga 2V8 21:10, 8. Gonzaga (A) V4 21:11.

Varsity Boat Lineups

Second Varsity Eight: Corina Chilibeck (coxswain), Amy Brevick (stroke), Erica Lewis, Karin Brevick, Nicole Janke, Michelle Morris, Jamie Deyette, Carly Farris and Christy Mills.

Third Varsity Eight: Tara McTavish (coxswain), Lexi Conley (stroke), Casey Heil, Janelle Malama, Monica Teague, Michelle Mindemann, Amanda Kyle, Tricia Schlacter and Alex Bond.

Fourth Varsity Eight: Sarah Weakley (coxswain), Jamie Deyette (stroke), Michelle Morris, Carly Farris, Christy Mills, Michelle Mindemann , Tamara Crooks, Tricia Schlacter and Melanie Baer.

Varsity Four: Morgan Hansen (coxswain), Amy Brevick (stroke), Nicole Janke, Monica Teague and Janelle Malama.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder