UW Athletics To Recognize Emtman

Nov. 8, 2006

SEATTLE - The University of Washington athletic department will honor former Husky All-America defensive lineman Steve Emtman for his upcoming induction into the College Football Hall of Fame during Saturday's football game against Stanford at Husky Stadium.

Emtman will be presented a framed certificate by National Football Foundation President Steve Hatchell and UW Director of Athletics Todd Turner. Kickoff for the game is scheduled for 12:30 p.m. and tickets are available by calling 206/543-2200.

'He was the consummate team player. He had tremendous effort, intensity and his goal every game was to play a perfect game, which meant making every tackle in every game.'
Husky Defensive Line Coach Randy Hart, who coached Emtman from 1989-91

Emtman, a unanimous first-team All-America selection in 1991 and a two-time Pacific-10 Conference Defensive Player of the Year, will be one of 15 former players and coaches who will be enshrined in the National Football Foundation College Football Hall of Fame. The 13 players and two coaches selected will be part of the Hall's Class of 2007 will be inducted at the 49th Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 5, 2006, at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel in New York City, prior to their official enshrinement at the Hall in South Bend, Ind., during ceremonies this summer.

Emtman is the 11th Washington player to be inducted to college football's Hall of Fame, but the first of what might be considered the 'modern era' of UW football -- each of the Huskies' other 10 Hall of Famers completed their careers prior to 1965. Washington has also had four coaches enshrined in the Hall, including Don James, inducted in 1999.

A consensus All-American in 1991, Emtman led Washington to consecutive Rose Bowl wins in 1990 and 1991, the latter win capping an undefeated, national championship season. Emtman was the anchor of a UW defense that allowed just 67.1 rushing yards per game and 9.2 points per game, both numbers among the best in NCAA history.

Emtman in 1991 became just the ninth collegiate player ever to win both the Outland and Lombardi Trophies in the same year, and was the fourth-place finisher in voting for the 1991 Heisman Trophy. He was the No. 1 overall pick in the 1992 NFL Draft by the Indianapolis Colts, and played six years in the NFL before his career was cut short by a series of knee injuries.

He was most recently honored with selection to a number of the college football 'All-Century' teams selected by various organizations and media outlets at the end of the 20th century, further cementing his reputation as one of the greatest defensive linemen in college football history.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder