Pac-10 Announces Men's Soccer All-Conference Honors

Nov. 9, 2006

Walnut Creek, Calif. - Nine Stanford men's soccer players were honored with all-league accolades today when the Pac-10 conference released its all-conference honors. Senior Galen Thompson (Denver, CO), juniors Scott Bolkan (Salem, OR) and Evan Morgan (Littleton, CO) along with freshman Michael Strickland (Davis, CA) were named to the all-conference second team.

Cardinals Kyle Hency (Waterloo, IL), John Moore (Chino Hills, CA), T.J. Novak (Fenton, MO), Dan Shapiro (New Haven, CT) and Bret Shimizu (Roy, UT) tabbed honorable mention selections.

Washington redshirt junior forward Kevin Forrest was named Pac-10 Player of the Year, San Diego State defender Nick Cardenas was named Pac-10 Freshman of the Year and California head coach Kevin Grimes was named Pac-10 Coach of the Year.

The Cardinal wrapped up the 2006 season with a 7-7-4 overall record, 5-3-2 in the Pac-10. Stanford ended the season on a high note with a 2-1 overtime victory over cross-town rival California last week.



Name	Pos. 	Yr. 	SchoolEly Allen	F 	Sr. 	WASHJ. Ayala-Hil	F	Jr. .	CALEric Ebert	MF	Sr. 	CALR. Findley**	F	Sr. 	OSUKevin Forrest*	F	RsJr. 	WASHTally Hall*	GK	Sr. 	SDSUTy Harden*	D	Sr. 	WASHA. Jacobson*	MF	RsJr. 	CALSteve Purdy	D	Sr. 	CALMike Zaher	D	Jr. 	UCLASal Zizzo	D	So. 	UCLA


Name	Pos. 	Yr. 	SchoolRaul Bautista	MF	RsSr. .	SDSUScott Bolkan	D	Jr. 	STANNick Cardenas	D	Fr. 	SDSUDavid Estrada	F	Fr.	UCLAMatt Fischer	D	Sr. 	WASHGeorge John	MF	So. 	WASHJason Leopoldo	MF/F	So. 	UCLAKiel McClung	D	Sr. 	UCLAEvan Morgan	MF	Jr. 	STANM. Strickland	MF	Fr. 	STANGalen Thompson	MF/D	Sr. 	STAN

*two-time All-Pac-10 honoree
**three-time All-Pac-10 honoree

HONORABLE MENTION (received votes):Kraig Chiles (RsJr., MF, SDSU); Alex Christensen (Jr., D, OSU); Andrew DiCicco (Sr., F, SDSU); Brett Gardner (Jr., D/MF, OSU); Nick Hatzke (RsSr., MF, CAL); Rylan Hawkins (RsFr., GK, WASH); Kyle Hency (RsJr., D/MF, STAN); Hector Jimenez (Fr., MF, CAL); Bryan Jordan (Sr., F, OSU); Jo Jo Katz (So., MF, WASH); Imaan Kerchgani (Fr., MF, CAL); Daniel Leach (So., D, OSU); John Moore (Fr., GK, STAN); Justin Myers (RsJr., GK, CAL); Kyle Nakazawa (Fr., MF, UCLA); T.J. Novak (So., MF/F, STAN); Danny Ortiz (So., D, SDSU); Eric Reed (Sr., GK, UCLA); Brad Rusin (So., D, UCLA); Dennis Sanchez (So., D, SDSU); Luke Sassano (Fr., MF/F, CAL); Dan Shapiro (Jr., F, STAN); Bret Shimizu (Sr., MF, STAN); Jacob Wilson (RsSo., MF, CAL).

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder