Six Huskies Named To Pac-10 All-Academic Team

Nov. 20, 2006

WALNUT CREEK, CALIF. - Led by first-team selections Kevin Forrest, Rylan Hawkins and George John, Washington placed six players on the Pac-10 All-Academic Men's Soccer Team, Conference Commissioner Tom Hansen announced Monday.

In addition to the three first-team honorees, senior defenders Matt Fischer and Ty Harden and junior midfielder Bobbak Talebi were named to the Pac-10 All-Academic honorable mention team.

Forrest, a redshirt junior forward from Edmonds, Wash., has a 3.47 grade point average and is majoring in business. He is the only player in the conference to be named to the first-team for both the 2006 All-Pac-10 and Pac-10 All-Academic squads. The honor is the second of his career as he was also named to the Pac-10 All-Academic first-team as a sophomore in 2004.

Hawkins, a redshirt freshman from Shoreline, Wash., has a 3.95 grade point average and is majoring in computer engineering. Hawkins is the only redshirt freshman to make the first or second team (true freshmen are not eligible) and the Husky goalkeeper boasts the highest GPA of any player in the conference.

John, a sophomore midfielder from Shoreline, Wash., has a 3.66 grade point average as a business major. John was also named to the ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District VIII team earlier this season. It is the first career Pac-10 All-Academic honor for John.

Harden, a senior defender from Junction City, Ore., garnered his third-straight selection to the Pac-10 All-Academic team, notching an honorable mention nod after two-straight second-team honors. Fischer, a senior defender from Sammamish, Wash., and Talebi, a junior midfielder from Kirkland, Wash., were selected to the All-Pac-10 team for the first time in their careers.

In order to be eligible for selection to the academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade point average and be either a starter or significant contributor.

2006 Pac-10 All-Academic Men's Soccer Teams

First Team
Scott Bolkan, STAN* Jr. 3.64 Human Biology
Lucas Egenwall, OSU Sr. 3.83 Business Administration
Kevin Forrest, WASH* Jr. 3.47 Business Administration
Brett Gardner, OSU* Jr. 3.92 Business Administration
Rylan Hawkins, WASH RS Fr. 3.95 Computer Engineering
George John, WASH So. 3.66 Business Administration
Freddy McDonald, SDSU Jr. 3.69 Chemistry
Dan Shapiro, STAN* Jr. 3.86 Economics
Bret Shimizu, STAN* Sr. 3.50 Management Science & Engineering
Galen Thompson, STAN Sr. 3.47 Religious Studies
Nick Webb, OSU Jr. 3.70 Exercise & Sport Science

Second Team
Michael Brown, STAN Sr. 3.31 Urban Studies
Ryan Callahan, OSU So. 3.65 Business Administration
Tally Hall, SDSU Sr. 3.31 Kinesiology
Tracy Hasson, OSU So. 3.51 Business Administration
Matthew Holtrust, CAL RS Sr. 3.31 Political Science
Bryan Jordan, OSU Sr. 3.29 Business Administration
Daniel Leach, OSU So. 3.65 Psychology
Evan Morgan, STAN Jr. . 3.57 International Relations
Ryan Oblak, STAN Jr. 3.30 Math & Computer Science
Eric Reed, UCLA Sr. 3.28 Religion
Mason Webb, OSU Jr. 3.33 Psychology

* - two-time all-academic selection

HONORABLE MENTION: Josh Cameron, So., OSU; Alex Christensen, Jr., OSU; Packy Deenihan, So., OSU; Matt Fischer, Sr., WASH; Greg Folk, Jr., UCLA; Maxwell Griffin, So., UCLA; Ty Harden, Sr., WASH; Nick Hatzke, RS Sr., CAL; Kyle Hency, RS Jr., STAN; Tim Jones, So., STAN; Joey Loreth, So., OSU; Michael Nieraeth, So., CAL; Bobbak Talebi, Jr., WASH; Michael Zaher, Jr., UCLA.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder