No. 6 Iowa State Shuts Out No. 23 Wrestling, 40-0

Nov. 26, 2006

AMES, Iowa - The No. 23 Arizona State University wrestling team suffered a 40-0 loss at No. 6 Iowa State in dual action Sunday afternoon in Ames, Iowa, marking the first time the Sun Devils have been shut out since the 2003-04 season. The loss dropped the Sun Devils to 2-2 overall on the year while the Cyclones improved to 2-0.

The dual opened at 125 with Tyler Bowles dropping a 14-3 major decision to Nick Fanthorpe, staking the hosts to a 4-0 lead. The hosts won the next two bouts by decision with Shawn Jones falling, 9-6, to No. 16 Nick Gallick at 133 before Pat Payne suffered a 5-2 setback at 141 to Mitch Mueller. The Cyclones pushed their lead to 16-0 after No. 17 Cyler Sanderson pinned Cameron Smith at 0:51.

The Sun Devils looked to end the losing slide as No. 1 Brian Stith took on No. 2 Trent Paulson in a rematch at 157 pounds. Paulson won the first showing, a 2-1 decision last week at the NWCA All-Star Classic, before taking a 2-0 decision Sunday. No. 9 Patrick Pitsch also took on No. 5 Travis Paulson in a rematch at 165 from the finals of the Fullerton Open, but for the second weekend in a row, the Cyclone grappler got the best of Pitsch, winning a 3-1 decision.

From there, Alex Pavlenko dropped a 9-2 decision to No. 15 David Bertolino at 174 before No. 15 Greg Gifford was pinned in 4:05 at 184 by No. 10 Jake Varner to push the host's advantage to 31-0. Jason Trulson tried to halt the slide at 197, but dropped a 10-4 decision to No. 8 Kurt Backes before the dual ended with Thor Moen being pinned in 4:53 by David Zabriskie at heavyweight.

The last time the Sun Devils absorbed a shut out loss came on January 10, 2004, at the Virginia Duals when Nebraska scored a 37-(-1) victory in the tournament.

The Sun Devils will now head to Sin City next weekend as the team competes in the Cliff Keen/Las Vegas Invitational Dec. 1-2.

#6 Iowa State def. #23 Arizona State, 40-0
Dual started at 125 pounds
125 - Nick Fanthorpe (ISU) major Tyler Bowles (ASU), 14-3
133 - #16 Nick Gallick (ISU) decision Shawn Jones (ASU), 9-6
141 - Mitch Mueller (ISU) decision Pat Payne (ASU), 5-2
149 - #17 Cyler Sanderson (ISU) pinned Cameron Smith (ASU), 0:51
157 - #2 Trent Paulson (ISU) decision #1 Brian Stith (ASU), 2-0
165 - #5 Travis Paulson (ISU) decision #9 Patrick Pitsch (ASU), 3-1
174 - #15 David Bertolino (ISU) decision Alex Pavlenko (ASU), 9-2
184 - #10 Jake Varner (ISU) pinned #15 Greg Gifford (ASU), 4:05
197 - #8 Kurt Backes (ISU) decision Jason Trulson (ASU), 10-4
285 - David Zabriskie (ISU) pinned Thor Moen (ASU), 4:53

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder