Justin Hickman Named a Finalist for the Ted Hendricks Award

Nov. 28, 2006

UCLA senior Justin Hickman is one of six finalists for the 2006 Ted Hendricks Award, presented annually to the nation's top defensive end.

He is second nationally with 1.14 sacks per game (12.5 total) and fifth (tied) in tackles for loss (1.68 - 18.5 total). He ranks first in the Pac-10 in both sacks and tackles for losses. Twice this season, he has recorded three solo sacks in a game (Notre Dame, Rice). On the year, he has made 37 total tackles (27 solos) and leads the Bruins in sacks (12.5) and tackles for loss (18.5).

Hickman ranks third (tied) on UCLA's single-season sack list (the record is 16.5 by Dave Ball in 2003) and sixth on the single-season tackles for loss list. He is ninth on the career sack list and 17th on the career tackles for loss list.

In the opener, he helped hold the Utes to just 287 yards of total offense and was credited with one tackle (a loss of one yard). Against Rice, he made five tackles, including 3.0 sacks. At Washington, he was credited with four tackles (three solos), one sack and one forced fumble.

Against Stanford, he recorded three tackles (two solos), including 1.5 sacks as the Bruins held the Cardinal to just 166 total yards. Against Arizona, he had three solo tackles, including a nine-yard sack and a second tackle for loss (eight yards). At Oregon, he had three solo tackles, including one sack and a second tackle for loss. He also blocked a PAT attempt. At Notre Dame, he made a career-high eight tackles (three solos) as UCLA held the Irish to 41 net rushing yards. He made 3.0 sacks of Brady Quinn and finished the day with 3.5 tackles for losses. Against Washington State, he made three tackles, including 2.0 for loss. He was not credited with a tackle at California. Against Oregon State, he made four solo tackles, including one sack for 16 yards on which he also forced a Matt Moore fumble. At Arizona State, he had three solo tackles, including one sack, as UCLA held the Sun Devils to 264 yards and no touchdowns.

The other finalists are Gaines Adams of Clemson, Mkristo Bruce of Washington State, Tim Crowder of Texas, Anthony Spencer of Purdue and LaMarr Woodley of Michigan.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder