Noelle Quinn Selected As Pre-Season Naismith Candidate

Dec. 11, 2006

UCLA senior guard Noelle Quinn (Los Angeles, Calif.) is amongst 50 players selected as pre-season candidates for the Naismith Trophy presented by Cingular Wireless. The Naismith Trophy is the most prestigious national award presented annually to the men's and women's players of the year.

Quinn has been named to the pre-season Watch Lists of every major award this season, including the Wade Trophy and Wooden Award. A do-everything kind of player, she is currently averaging 15.7 points, 6.0 rebounds and a Pac-10 leading 6.4 assists per game. Last season, she averaged a team-best 18.1 points and 8.2 rebounds per game while earning AP and WBCA/Kodak honorable mention All-America honors. She was also a first-team Academic All-District 8 honoree. The 2004 Pac-10 Freshman of the Year, she has earned first-team all-conference honors twice and is tied for the conference record with eight career Pac-10 Player of the Week awards.

The Top 50 list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country. The board based its pre-season criteria on player performances from last season and expectations for the 2006-07 season. In January, the Board of Selectors will narrow its pre-season list to the Top 30 players in the nation. Those players, and others who distinguish themselves throughout the season, will be eligible for the final ballot in March.

Cingular Wireless will continue to set the standard in allowing fans to participate in determining this year's winner. Through the power and ease of text messaging, fan voting will account for an unprecedented 25% of the final results - more than any other national award.

The pre-season candidates for the Naismith Trophy presented by Cingular Wireless, listed in alphabetical order, are as follows: Matee Ajavon, G, Rutgers; Jolene Anderson, G, Wisconsin; Morenike Atunrase, G/F, Texas A&M; Alison Bales, C, Duke; DeWanna Bonner, F, Auburn; Sha Brooks, G, Florida; Essense Carson, F, Rutgers; Cori Chambers, G, Georgia; Angela Clark, F, St. John's; Marissa Coleman, F, Maryland; Jazz Covington, F, Louisville; Jessica Davenport, C, Ohio State; Dee Davis, G, Vanderbilt; Jessica Dickson, G, South Florida; Shay Doron, G, Maryland; Sylvia Fowles, C, LSU; Katie Gearlds, G, Purdue; Chrissy Givens, F, Middle Tennessee; Devanai Hampton, C, Cal; Lindsey Harding, G, Duke; Kiera Hardy, G, Nebraska; Laura Harper, F, Maryland; Cameo Hicks, G, Washington; Alexis Hornbuckle, G, Tennessee; Charde Houston, F, Connecticut; Tasha Humphrey, F, Georgia; Tiffany Jackson, F, Texas; Tye Jackson, F, Houston; Crystal Kelly, F, Western Kentucky; Crystal Langhorne, F, Maryland; Erlana Larkins, F, UNC; Ivory Latta, G, UNC; Camille Little, F, UNC; Victoria Lucas-Perry, G, Michigan State; Dionne Marsh, F, New Mexico; Lindsey Medders, G, Iowa State; Renee Montgomery, G, Connecticut; Shay Murphy, G, USC; Courtney Paris, C, Oklahoma; Candace Parker, F/G/C, Tennessee; Armintie Price, G, Ole Miss; Allie Quigley, G, DePaul; Noelle Quinn, G, UCLA; Jillian Robbins, F, Tulsa; Megan Skouby, C, Iowa; Brooke Smith, F/C, Stanford; Kristi Toliver, G, Maryland; Mercedes Walker, C, Pittsburgh; Emily Westerberg, F, Arizona State; Candice Wiggins, G, Stanford.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder