Women's Tennis to Host Hawai'i in 2007 Opener

Jan. 17, 2007

Bruins Open Up 2007 vs. Hawai'i
The 15th-ranked UCLA women's tennis team opens up the 2007 dual-match season this Friday, hosting Hawai'i at the Los Angeles Tennis Center beginning at 1:30 p.m. It will mark the first-ever meeting between the two teams.

Following the Action Via the Internet
Fans unable to attend any Bruin home match in 2007 can follow the live scoring over the internet at UCLA's website: uclabruins.com. It can be accessed by clicking on the link in the 2007 women's tennis schedule.

Schnack/Zalameda Take NCTC Title
Freshman Yasmin Schnack and Junior Riza Zalameda captured the doubles title on Monday at the National Collegiate Tennis Classic in Indian Wells, Calif. The Bruin duo defeated USC's Lindsey Nelson and Julie Smekodub, 8-3. Schnack came very close to winning both events at the NCTC, as she dropped a very tight 2-6, 6-1, 7-5 decision to Nelson in the singles final.

Cold Weather Freezes Play in Las Vegas
Due to record lows in Las Vegas over the weekend much of the Freeman Memorial Championships was cancelled. As a result, only one round of doubles and one round of singles was played. Ashley Joelson and Alex McGoodwin picked up the only win for UCLA during the tournament, defeating Georgia Tech's Alison Silverio/Tarryn Rudman, 8-6 in the Flight-I doubles draw.

Bruins Begin the Year at No. 15
UCLA checked in at No. 15 in the Fila/ITA Team Rankings released on Jan. 9. Defending NCAA Champion Stanford is ranked No. 1, followed by No. 2 Florida, No. 3 USC, No. 4 Notre Dame and No. 5 Miami.

Schnack Leads Individual Rankings
Freshman Yasmin Schnack is the highest-ranked Bruin to kickoff the new year, as she debuts at No. 28 in the first rankings of 2007. She is followed by No. 25 Riza Zalameda, No. 40 Ashley Joelson and No. 61 Tracy Lin. In doubles, Schnack and Zalameda are ranked No. 17.

UCLA Selected for National Team Indoors
UCLA is one of 16 teams selected to play at the 2007 USTA/ITA National Team Indoors, Feb. 1-4 in Madison, Wisc. The University of Wisconsin is the host school of the tournament, which will take place at the Neilsen Tennis Stadium. Joining UCLA in Madison will be Baylor, BYU, Cal, Clemson, Georgia Tech, Miami, North Carolina, Northwestern, Notre Dame, Pepperdine, Stanford, TCU, Vanderbilt, Virginia Commonwealth and Wisconsin. UCLA has never won the tournament but has reached the final twice (1990 and `95).

Five Newcomers Arrive in Westwood
Led by Yasmin Schnack (Sacramento, Calif.) and Stephanie Wetmore (Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada), UCLA welcomes five new players to its roster in 2007. The other freshmen are Becky Duesler (Santa Ana, Calif.), Sarah Yang (Anaheim, Calif.) and Alexandra Fleming (Newport Beach, Calif.).

Closing in on NCAA Title #100
With 99 NCAA team titles, the UCLA Athletic Program is on the verge of making history as the first school to reach No. 100. After a couple of close misses by the women's soccer and volleyball teams in the fall, UCLA is still looking to reach the century mark.

Head Coach Stella Sampras Webster
Head coach Stella Sampras Webster takes an overall record of 165-90 (.647) into her 11th season at the helm of the UCLA program. She is coming off her seventh-consecutive top 10 finish at the NCAA Championships, as the Bruins reached the round of 16 at the 2006 championships. Sampras Webster was also an outstanding player at UCLA from 1988-91, as she is one of only four players in UCLA women's tennis history to earn All-America honors every year of her career.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder