Pac-10 Baseball Coaches Pick Arizona State To Capture Conference Crown

Jan. 29, 2007

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- ARIZONA STATE has been chosen as the favorite to win this year's Pac-10 baseball title, according to a vote of the league's coaches.

The Sun Devils received four of nine first-place votes, earning 57 points overall. The defending National Champions, OREGON STATE, received three first place votes and 55 points overall for the No. 2 spot, while STANFORD was picked third with two first place votes, bringing its total to 51 points.

Arizona State, ranked 14th in Collegiate Baseball's preseason Top-25 and 20th in Baseball America's preseason Top-40, finished last season at 37-21 overall, including a 14-10 mark in Conference play. Arizona State continued on to the postseason where it was joined by Oregon State, Stanford and UCLA, making 2006 the 10th consecutive season the Conference has qualified at least four of its nine teams for the NCAA Tournament. The Sun Devils trip to Houston marked ASU's seventh consecutive postseason appearance and 30th all-time.

Oregon State earned the outright league title for the second consecutive season making them the only team from last year's College World Series field among the eight who qualified fro the 2006 CWS. The Beavers went on to capture their first College World Series title, the second NCAA team title in school history. The Pacific-10 Conference has produced a College World Series participant each year since 1996 and has made the CWS 25 times overall since the league became known as the Pac-10 in 1979.

The 2007 Conference baseball season gets underway Fri., March 23, when USC hosts Arizona State.

Results of the poll are as follows. Eight points are awarded for a first-place vote, seven points for a second-place vote, and so on. Coaches are not allowed to vote for their own team.

		School (First Place Votes)	Points	1.	Arizona State (4)               57	2. 	Oregon State                    55	3. 	Stanford (2)	                51	4. 	UCLA	                        44	5. 	Arizona	                        42	6.    	USC	                        27	7. 	California	                17	8. 	Washington State          	16	9. 	Washington	                15
Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder